What Is God Allowed To Take?

I can’t even list all of the friends that I have lost just in the last 3-4 years because of my faith. Some of those losses still sadden me greatly. I’ve tried to reach out to some of them only to have the door shut in my face, only to be hurt even more than when the friendships had originally ended. Friends have gone behind my back after we’d been there for each other for months, years…I have scrolled by posts on various social media sites only to catch a glimpse  of my name, and see those so-called friends spreading horrible rumors about me…because of my faith. I have been called things that I wouldn’t dare repeat here, rumors have been spread…I am a homophobe, a bigot, a holier than thou Christian, by some people that I have tried my best to love and stand by for as long as they would allow. I have had to give up relationships with family members, even fellow churchgoers, because of my faith. I have very recently been ridiculed by someone that I love dearly, someone that has been there for me through thick and thin for years. Someone that I would have sworn would never leave me left me. And of course, speaking of other types of losses, my father passed away in 2016. But really, he was gone before he passed on. I never had him as a proper father figure no matter how desperately I wanted it. I could look at these things in two ways, these losses…I could be bitter and say that God took these people away, that He has allowed me to experience this pain, this deep hurt, and that I am a Christian in spite of these things…or I could be happy and say that I am a stronger Christian because of these things. I could allow these bad experiences to ruin my relationship with God or I could use them as a great reminder that God is not allowing these things to happen in order to hurt me but to strengthen me.

What is my limit? What are my requirements? How much is He allowed to take?

I could easily draw a line in the sand, separating the less important things from the important things…God, You can take my old, beat up car, but not my brand new one. God, You can have this shabby old house but not that nice one I have my eyes on. God, You can take this, but not that. What is God allowed to take from me? How much is too much? Where do I draw my line?

Everything we have belongs to God. It came from God. Everything we have in this life is a gift, and God holds the right to take them back when He sees fit. Will we pitch a tantrum when He takes things or will we say “Thy will be done”? Will I accept His call even if it means that I am asked to leave my comfortable home for a shabby one in the mission field? Will I accept His call if He asks me to go so far outside of my comfort zone that I literally feel like puking? How much is too much? When do I tell God that He’s not worth it? Not worth all of the pain…the loss…the heartache…the trouble..the arguments…the debates…Ideally, the answer would be a loud NEVER. But I’m not always the ideal Christian.

Just this month, I’ve questioned. Ive asked God just how much He plans on taking away from me, just how many people….because I’m not sure how much more my heart can handle. How many people can I lose? God! I wanted to yell. I am losing everyone! But He quickly reminded me…I should be everyone to you. I should be everything to you.

“If Christ is not all to you, He is nothing.” – Spurgeon

If He was willing to give up His Son for me, can I not give up friends and family if that is what He requires? Who should I turn to, who should I defend…the One who died for me, or the ones who hate my Savior?

He gives, and He takes away. How much will I let Him take before giving up? I should give Him everything. My dreams. My home. My family. My friends. There should be no limit as to what He takes as long as I know this – He will never take Himself away from me. So like Job, I can withstand whatever life throws at me as long as He is by my side. He may give me more than I can handle, but He can handle it all, so I give it to Him.

21 thoughts on “What Is God Allowed To Take?

  1. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) February 20, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    So sorry for all your losses, Kalinann. My heart goes out to you. Your repeated question reminds me of Job and all that he lost – yet he continued to praise the Lord. This is a great reminder for us all. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:08 am

      Thank you so much, Amy! The story of Job is a constant inspiration and encouragement to me.

      Like

  2. Kristi February 20, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    You’re right. We should be ready to give up everything for him and in order to do that I believe we need to prepare our hearts, ask for wisdom and the courage to do whatever He asks us to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:09 am

      Absolutely! Lots of preparation is needed!

      Like

  3. GodlyDivaGal February 20, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    God doesn’t give us more than He knows that we can handle

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:09 am

      I think He gives us more than WE can handle, that way we have to go to Him! Goodness knows I can’t handle any of this on my own, but with Him…well, ALL things are possible!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. truthinlovehfred February 20, 2017 / 10:23 pm

    My heart hurts that you have been hurt by people close to you and have lost friendships. I have also suffered loss for the sake of the gospel. I’m encouraged by your commitment to seek God’s will in the midst of these challenges. Let us remember who the real enemy is in all of this. Although God had to allow it, it was Satan who caused Job such misery and pain. Our battle is against Satan, but we will overcome his evil with God’s good (Rom. 12:21). Thanks for sharing this and encouraging us all to stand againt the adversary!

    Like

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:10 am

      Thank you so much for reading.. ♥ You are correct. Satan is our enemy, but with God…we can defeat him!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather Hart February 21, 2017 / 3:10 am

    Very convicting, and definitely something for me to think about.

    Like

  6. Terri's Thoughts February 21, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    I give him all because he gave all to me

    Like

  7. TrueAgape February 21, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    Great reminder! God has greater plans for us than we can imagine!

    Like

  8. Grace February 22, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    I am so sorry for your losses, but God truly has blessed you with the strength to endure!

    Like

    • kalinann February 22, 2017 / 4:02 pm

      He has given me so much over the years!

      Like

  9. Ariana March 10, 2017 / 3:13 am

    Psalm 147:3Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

    3 He heals the brokenhearted
    and binds up their wounds.

    Psalm 34:18 Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

    18 The Lord is near the brokenhearted;
    He saves those crushed in spirit.

    Psalm 34:15 Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

    15 The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,
    and His ears are open to their cry for help.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ellemadlo March 19, 2017 / 12:28 am

    I love this story, your heart, and I already love you like a sister even though I don’t know any more than your name. Please know that even if a bunch of friends forsake you, I’d love to be a friend for you 🙂

    I wanted to let you know – I almost never touch my Reader, but tonight, I randomly did. I scrolled through all the normal people that post every day, but stopped at yours. And as I read down the post, I was amazed at how the Lord has obviously been working on both of us at the same time on the same stuff.

    Just under two weeks ago I posted a post titled Drinking the Cup on my blog. It looks like I read your blog and posted my paraphrase, but I saw it for the first time tonight. And there was no possibility you saw mine, as mine was posted nearly a month after yours. The Holy Spirit is doing a new work in us!

    The Lord is moving in mighty ways, and I know He will prepare us for our future.

    If you want, you can see Drinking the Cup here: https://elleeverydaysite.wordpress.com/2017/03/05/drinking-the-cup/

    I love you in Christ and can’t wait to get to know you better.

    Elle
    http://www.ellelovett.com

    Like

  11. jdelsanto March 22, 2017 / 2:34 am

    “Do not think that I came to bring peace on earth. I did not come to bring peace but a sword. For I have come to ‘set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law’; and ‘a man’s enemies will be those of his own household.’ He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.”
    ‭‭Matthew‬ ‭10:34-39‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

    Like

Leave a Reply

