While We Sit At Ease.

I hesitate to post this after my Facebook post went awry on this topic, but after all, if my years of growing in the faith has taught me anything, if God has told me anything through our years of growing closer to one another, it is this.

Stand Firm.

There are certain things that lack importance…things that, perhaps, are best left alone when a debate or argument begins. We are, after all, called to be meek. To be Christlike. To be humble and loving and gentle. We are not, however, called to be weak. Let me say this before we start anything.

Meekness is not the same thing as Weakness.

Jesus Christ was a meek and humble Man. He was kind, He was loving, He was gentle. But He never wavered. In fact, He called out the Pharisees, threw tables in the temple, called out sin and was brave enough to tell us all…go and sin no more. He asked God the Father to forgive the men who killed Him, but He did not give them a free pass into Heaven. He loves us but demands repentance. Let me repeat it. Jesus Christ demands repentance.

Luke 13:3 – I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.

Acts 3:19 – Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.

Of course, I could list dozens of other verses on the necessity of repentance. We are called to love one another, but Christians, we are loving people straight into Hell. When we tolerate sin and allow it to run rampant without any sign of hatred towards it-yes, hatred towards sin, not towards the person who sins-we are failing as Christians. We are accepting something that is putting people closer and closer to an eternity of Hell because of God’s righteous and inevitable judgement. You may claim to be a Christian, but unless you have seen the necessity of repentance, your salvation is false. You can not ignore every part of the Bible other than “For God so loved the world” “Love one another” and “Judge not” because, while those verses are special and important, they will damn you if you take them out of context with no interest in learning what they mean or what the conditions are to receive that love from God. Yes, there are conditions.

Today is the day that thousands upon thousands of women marched in different parts of the United States of America to protest multiple things. Mostly to protest our new President, Donald Trump. To be perfectly honest, I do not mind a peaceful protest. We are all allowed to have different views. Different beliefs. Different religions. While my prayer would be that we would all come to know God, that will not happen, and every person in this country deserves the same freedom of speech that I enjoy. So, I am not unhappy with the march itself. Go march. Protest peacefully if you feel led to do so. But what I am against is the Christians who have taken part in a march that, for the most part, not only condones but supports abortion, homosexuality and other sexual immoral things, and a very anti-Biblical version of feminism. I am aware that my views are not popular, and yes, I have been told that I am old fashioned, living in a box, hypocritical, a bigot….shall I go on?

Yet here I am. Writing another-probably controversial-blog post about another controversial topic. Here I am, a woman against a movement that society says I should be in full support of. Feminism. I’m a female. I should be a feminist. Except my views align more with Elisabeth Elliot rather than most of the marchers today. (Elisabeth Elliot was against modern feminism. Read her books for more information.)

It’s funny. These women are ready to support any religion and any views in their march, yet when I post something against it, I’m called out and called a horrible woman. Where is the acceptance? It has disappeared along with Godly feminism.

I thought about including photos from the marches to show how inappropriate the majority of women are being, but decided against it. I have no desire to have those images on my site. But let me describe them as well as I can without over sharing. These women are shouting things about their sex life and genitalia, holding up signs and wearing t-shirts with extremely graphic photos of said things. Women are holding up coat hangers and so on, glorifying abortion, the murdering of babies. Women are taking off their clothes in public because apparently, that proves that we are not a sexual object. I agree, women. We are not toys. We are not sexual objects. We are more than what is under our clothing. But goodness…we have lost our femininity entirely. We are reflecting the Godless society. These marches and 99% of the women in them are reflecting a society that wants nothing to do with God. And honestly, I’d be a little less disheartened over this if I haven’t seen so many women who claim the name of Christ eager to take part in the march. Remember what the Bible says,

Romans 12:2 – And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

In so many places in scripture, we read the words “Be Ye Seperate” or “Be The Light” yet we seem determined to mix in closer and closer with the darkness. We are getting closer and closer to Baal and farther from God because His way is now too old-fashioned.

It’s 2017! We must change! We must evolve! We must grow! We must protest!

No. We must repent. We must be holy. We must be saved!

We, and I speak for myself as well, have gotten far too soft. We want to fit in so badly, we want to avoid persecution at all cost, so we’ve stopped preaching the Gospel. We’ve stopped talking about sin, conviction, Hell, repentance…and slowly but surely, we’ve stopped talking about God unless we are just quoting John 3:16. John 3:16 is lovely, but it means nothing to those who refuse to repent. I got ridiculed today by a whole group of people on one topic, then just when I thought the drama had ended, a Facebook post of mine blew up and I had to deal with that, too. And honestly, it’s hard. It is terribly hard to stay strong when your inbox is suddenly filling up with hateful messages and your notifications won’t stop lighting up and you’re being cussed out on one end and mocked on the other. It is hard. And if that’s hard, I can’t even imagine real persecution like Christians are facing in other countries. I figure, if they can handle losing their lives, I can handle some hateful young women.

Image result for leonard ravenhill quotes

We must stop expecting to be loved by the world and we must stop caring if we are loved by the world. Never stop loving them, but acknowledge the fact that we aren’t going to be loved in return at times. Some people aren’t going to love us back. They aren’t going to believe us when we try and try to tell them that we do not believe in the Bible and preach the Gospel out of hatred but out of love, because we do not want them to experience Hell. They won’t understand until they are saved or until they are facing judgement. But would we not rather plant the seed and try instead of running away like cowards? We will face God too. Will He be proud of our dedication? Will we live with regret after being weak Christians in a world full of people who need Christ?

“Could a mariner sit idle if he heard the drowning cry? Could a doctor sit in comfort and just let his patients die? Could a fireman sit idle, let men burn and give no hand? Can you sit at ease in Zion with the world around you damned?” – Leonard Ravenhill

We hear the drowning cry yet we refuse to help them. We see people dying and we refuse to offer treatment. We see people on their way to an eternity of burning and we refuse to warn them. We see people every single day, knowing that they are lost and without a Savior, and we sit at ease without a care in the world.

God forbid we are uncomfortable for an hour or two! Why aren’t we preaching? Why do we give up so easily? It breaks my heart, and I pray that God continues to break it until I am resolved to be a stronger Christian.

Thousands of women marching today, many of which do not know a Savior. Will we blend in, or will we shed light?

39 thoughts on “While We Sit At Ease.

  1. whitechocolatetiger January 22, 2017 / 1:15 am

    Amen. I COMPLETELY agree! I can’t even speak up about the marches and homosexuality without being called “disgusting” and “hateful”. And no matter who our president is, Jesus is king.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. StacyS... January 22, 2017 / 1:51 am

    I couldn’t agree more!! It saddens me because I feel there are few people that feel this way. Even in my own christian circles I am seeing this more and more.

    Like

    • kalinann January 22, 2017 / 1:52 am

      It’s certainly not a common perspective to have! Thank you so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca Shelley January 22, 2017 / 5:01 am

    Thank you! I love this, the truth in it and especially how it encourages and challenges me at the same time. I’m having trouble with not being accepted (quite a bit of this is from people in my church!) for simply being quiet and not fitting into a given mold. I will not be loved by everyone. But I am loved by God!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Rebecca Shelley January 22, 2017 / 5:03 am

      A very different message than what you were trying to get across (which I liked too!) but it’s what resonated with me.

      Like

      • kalinann January 23, 2017 / 1:37 pm

        Any message that God wants to get across is the right one in my book! Thanks for reading, Rebecca!

        Like

  4. Life Lessons, God's Way January 23, 2017 / 3:10 am

    It’s hard for me to make too much comment on the march because I am a white female raised in a good area of where I lived. I do know that my conviction about the march is that I would not participate and it so incredibly sad to see so many profanities and indecency. It is so not feminism! I did see a few groups of pro life women at the march and if their conviction was to be there and spread good news, I fully support them.
    I am glad that you listen and live by your convictions!

    Like

    • kalinann January 23, 2017 / 1:40 pm

      Regardless of our race, gender or where we live, God calls us all to be the same type of person. A strong Christian who sticks to the Bible. My heart breaks; as a woman, I want to be able to support these women because I understand that they don’t have bad intentions per say. They’ve been effected so deeply by a sinful society. They want things, some of them good, and we all deserve respect and love. If only they would go after it in the right way!

      Liked by 3 people

  5. GodlyDaughter (@DivaOfGod) January 23, 2017 / 11:23 am

    Oh I agree with you – if a Christian says they’re a Christian, but then go and supports abortion….

    Like

    • kalinann January 23, 2017 / 1:41 pm

      So sad that there are so many who do support it!

      Like

  6. Amy Christensen January 23, 2017 / 3:39 pm

    Kalinann, we must be obedient to what He calls us to do. You are making a stand, we all should. Don’t give up, no matter how hard it gets. Keep being His light in the darkness and be obedient to His call in your life. Thanks for posting. – Amy
    http://stylingrannymama.com/

    Liked by 2 people

    • kalinann January 24, 2017 / 3:01 pm

      Thank you for the encouragement!

      Like

  7. rachaellbeers January 23, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    YES! I just posted about this very same issue. Just because we are Christians does not mean we should be silent. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) January 23, 2017 / 11:53 pm

    I am so glad that Jesus is the King. I take comfort in the sovereignity of God amidst all these difficult happenings in our society.

    Like

    • kalinann January 24, 2017 / 3:01 pm

      Absolutely! He is still in control!

      Like

  9. Heather Hart January 24, 2017 / 12:15 am

    At Bible study today we were talking about how much our country has changed in the last few decades. From not being able to have two people kiss on TV to wearing explicit hats. It breaks my heart.

    Like

    • kalinann January 24, 2017 / 3:02 pm

      There have been so many crazy changes in such a short period of time! Society has declined.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. debolton January 24, 2017 / 12:53 am

    I understand and respect that everyone has an opinion but I don’t live of this world so the things that go on in this World of its not bringing Glory to the kingdom it’s not worth even standing up for I only speak up for Christ because this World will never be able to sustain us. Good thing for your own blog where you can pice the opinion that you feel needs to be heard on this subject. I agree stand firm.

    Like

    • kalinann January 24, 2017 / 3:04 pm

      We are certainly called to speak up for Jesus above all else, but He also called us to speak out against sin and to rebuke, reprove and exhort. He told us to shout out and show the false prophets. I must disagree with one of your points- this is worth standing up for because it CAN bring glory to God when Christians speak out against sin in society. How else will the world see the light and know what is sin, and what is holy? Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. jdelsanto January 24, 2017 / 11:43 am

    The state of this nation grieves me; the state of the “church” grieves me….
    Sin is being glorified; good is being called evil, and evil good.

    Christians striving to live holy as we are called (1 Peter 1:16) to be, are called legalistic.

    Watered down gospel messages, and false gospel messages – “we are all sinners”, or “I sin everyday”….no….you cannot be a sinner and a saint.

    “Once saved, always saved”…no…rebuke that thought immediately.

    There is no time for compromise, today is the day of salvation!
    (2 Cor 6:2 NKJV)

    Like

    • kalinann January 24, 2017 / 3:04 pm

      Amen! Leonard Ravenhill once said, “When the world sees something in the church that it doesn’t like, they call it legalism!”

      Like

      • jdelsanto January 24, 2017 / 3:55 pm

        Amen! A huge fan of both Leonard and David Ravenhill!

        Like

  12. Scott LaPierre January 24, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    Hi Kay,
    I’m glad you decided to post this, despite what took place on Facebook. In a sense, resistance – or offense – from worldly people is good sign. It shows you’re speaking truth. When unbelievers agree with you and are encouraged by your thoughts there’s probably something wrong.

    Also, while I’ve addressed abortion some number of times from behind the pulpit, I think it’s received differently from women. So keep it up!

    Like

    • kalinann January 25, 2017 / 1:55 pm

      Thank you so much for reading! My Pastor has said to me before, that he hopes I receive criticism from people who are against the Bible. It gives me not only a chance to grow and a reason to study more, but makes me lean on God even more. I have to agree!

      I have seen a number of women respond very negatively to men when they try to talk about any subject that they have deemed strictly female. It’s sad. Our respect for men has gone away…even if they are the father, they want to hear nothing of it. Thank you for standing up for it behind the pulpit!

      Like

  13. jdelsanto January 25, 2017 / 2:24 am

    Have you ever watched open air preaching? There is a Godly woman from Florida, who does open air preaching under the guidance of their husband; she preached at the march in D.C.
    It was so sad to see how many women were marching. I honestly don’t even know if many of them educate themselves, and really think about or know why their marching…
    Feminism was about equal rights – we have equal rights. Now feminism is just about the submission of men to women, belittling them. God just shakes his head in grievance.
    A preacher from CT was at D.C. and shared how an abundance of women had taken over the men’s bathroom; he went in with his brothers in Christ and rebuked the women in the men’s room. A man who was standing in line (behind about 50 women, waiting for the men’s room no less) asked them where they were from; his reply was “manhood, you should join us”

    Like

    • kalinann January 25, 2017 / 1:56 pm

      I have! I am a big fan of open air preaching, it has been a “goal” of mine in a way to go out with a group and take part!

      I completely agree with your definition of feminism. We no longer crave equal rights, but sinful, special rights. We are in the midst of a VERY entitled generation with no respect for anyone but themselves.

      Like

      • jdelsanto January 25, 2017 / 2:29 pm

        Are you close to CT? NY? NC? FL?

        Like

  14. Jazzmin January 26, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    Kalin,
    I cannot tell you how many times I just nodded in agreement while reading this and felt joy in the fact that you are saying these things, speaking up as a true Christian about how wrong so many things are right now and the seriousness of people who proclaim God is their life or they are devout Christians but who are completely okay with supporting things like abortion. It is saddening, to say the very least. It’s amazing how any Christian woman especially could think that taking the lives of their unborn daughters could fall in line with protecting women’s rights. That is something that just makes me think, “What!?? How does that makes sense?”
    This subject is something that was thought-provoking for me, also, because I have experienced recently having friends who have been close to God all their lives and claim to follow Him and live in accord with His ways, yet they have agreed with the issues being fought for in these marches and movements. This has been disconcerting and confusing at times to see them do this instead of being no part of the world as God advises us. And it is hard to see that they don’t want to listen to that.

    What a meaningful point also about how the state of things and the place these marches lead us to is straight to a Godless society. Your thoughts are always stirring and inspiring- thank you for sharing this with such clarity and so many great points.
    And your outlook in facing persecution for these views is what keeps inspiring and strengthening the convictions of your fellow-Christians, as I know it is to me- keep going!

    Hope you are doing great!
    Many blessings,
    Jazzmin

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:15 am

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment, Jazzmin!

      Like

  15. theoblog2017 February 7, 2017 / 3:53 am

    This is a brilliant post. We need more people talking about this. God bless you!

    Like

    • kalinann February 21, 2017 / 3:14 am

      Thank you so much for reading!!

      Like

  16. GodlyDivaGal February 21, 2017 / 10:04 am

    We need to be bold in our faith..and we also need to know what we are up against these days…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. ellemadlo March 19, 2017 / 1:01 am

    This is SO encouraging – I’ve been talking mostly about this, too! It’s so my heart to see people saved and set free and to awaken the Bride out of their little comfort zone box. It’s a passion burning deep inside, and I’m so excited to get it out. And I only pray the fiery passion will never go out. I have been getting beat down here in Nicaragua (read more on my blog) by the devil. I’ve been wondering why we even came, or why we’re staying. But now the time seems too short. I want to go out right now into a church and start preaching that we need to come out of our box once and for all!

    So, thank you. I feel like this post was written for me. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Elle
    http://www.ellelovett.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

