When He Sees Us.

I am so incredibly fallible. I fail God every single day. I fail myself. My friends, my family. I make mistakes, I allow myself to become a slave to things that should have no power in my life. If I could write out all of the ways that I have fallen short, I’d have enough words for several books. Tonight, I thank Him for not seeing me for who I am, but for who I can turn into through His power, grace and love. I thank Him for taking me in His arms, for looking at me and loving every piece of me no matter how scarred, broken or bruised that those pieces may be, and seeing His child. No longer slave to sin, no longer a child of sin, but His child. The reason that He came to earth. We can take John 3:16 and know that if we were the only person left on earth, He still would have died for just us. He still would have endured every moment of pure agony to save my soul. To be with me, to be my Father, my King of Kings, my Savior, my Redeemer, my friend.

“Tell Me your story, show Me your wounds,
And I’ll show you what love sees when love looks at you.
Hand Me the pieces, broken and bruised,
And I’ll show you what love sees when love sees you. I see what I made in your mother’s womb,
And I see the day I fell in love with you.
I see your tomorrows, nothing left to chance.
I see My Father’s fingerprints.

I see your story, I see My name
Written on every beautiful page.
You see the struggle, you see the shame,
I see the reason I came.”

Mac Powell-When Love Looks At You.
God does not look at me, His born again child, and place a label on me based on my earthly father, but based on Him, my heavenly father. He does not look at me and label me based on what I have done in the past, He looks at my future. He does not look at my sinful past as a terrible story, but as a wonderful testimony to show what He can do in a person’s life.
He is not willing that any would perish without Him and divine intervention. He is not sitting in Heaven, standing by idly as He watches the world, watches people get farther and farther away from Him without a care. No, He is urging His children to share the Gospel so that they could see themselves as He sees them. He is looking at the tortured souls, plagued and ruined by sin, earnestly wishing that they would go to Him. He has not lost hope for anyone in this world; not even the worst murderers sitting in a prison cell, not the worst drug addicts, not the worst alcoholics. He has not lost hope for those who are having suicidal thoughts, or for those who have taken to harming themselves because they do not feel as though they can endure this world much longer. Because they do not see their own worth, their own beauty. He looks at them and desperately wants love to win in their lives. True love, the love of Christ.
We look at others, even at ourselves, and place judgement. We put God in a box and say that He can not reach out of it. He can not reach certain people, as if He doesn’t want to reach them. But He does. None of us have to be who we’ve been. None of us have to spend an eternity in Hell. None of us have to trapped in sin. All it takes is belief, faith and repentance for us to see ourselves as God sees us, for Him to see us as His children. Christ gave us all that He had in order for us to see His love for us demonstrated in the most beautiful way that we could imagine. His love was written in red, and I pray that we not let any more suffering souls go by us in our daily lives without sharing this truth with them.
21 thoughts on “When He Sees Us.

  1. Scott LaPierre December 17, 2016 / 12:52 am

    Kay,
    What you said about yourself is true of all of us. I think the difference is some people recognize it, while others don’t. I’m sure the Lord finds your humility pleasing.

    I too am thankful that when God the Father looks at me He sees me with the sinless perfection and complete righteousness of God the Son.

    Like

  2. Andrea Wiener December 17, 2016 / 12:54 am

    I like to think that when God sees us, that He is very pleased with us 🙂

    Like

  3. Rachael December 17, 2016 / 1:35 am

    This is such a relatable post. Your passion for Christ is so evident in your writing. I feel the way you describe God looking at us when I look at my children or my students. It’s impossible to just stand by, so I know God doesn’t just watch.

    Like

  4. Terri's Thoughts December 18, 2016 / 4:06 pm

    I hope when he looks at me that he is very pleased with what he sees

    Like

    • kalinann December 19, 2016 / 12:26 am

      What an amazing honor that would be!

      Like

  5. Caroline December 19, 2016 / 2:17 am

    This is so good and I love the grace that you pointed this post back to! It’s so important to know!

    Like

    • kalinann December 19, 2016 / 3:18 pm

      Thank you! Where would we be without grace?!

      Like

  6. Kristi December 19, 2016 / 2:43 am

    Love this! God does want everyone to come to know him and receive His saving grace. We shouldn’t decide who we feel is worthy to share with but share freely and let God change lives like only He can!

    Like

    • kalinann December 19, 2016 / 3:18 pm

      Amen! He is the chooser, we just deliver the Gospel!

      Like

  7. Heather Hart December 19, 2016 / 3:30 pm

    What a beautiful, much needed, post! Thank you.

    Like

    • kalinann December 20, 2016 / 3:23 pm

      Yes, He does! What a blessing to be “adopted” by Christ!

      Like

  8. Mary December 20, 2016 / 1:46 am

    This was beautiful. In your writing alone I felt the love and appreciation that you have for Jesus. It’s hard sometimes to get wrapped up in a moment of life that seems impossible to fix… Like my brother, a struggling alcoholic and drug addict now for 25 years. My siblings have given up on him… My parents have kept their faith though, praying day in and day out that God will deliver him. I too, for some time, doubted that God could cure him, but just like you said, you can’t put God in a box. And that’s why I haven’t.

    Like

    • kalinann December 21, 2016 / 12:56 am

      Thank you so much for your sweet words, Mary! If I may share a bit of my testimony…my brother is a drug addict, and my father was as well before passing away in June of this year. We’ve learned after years of struggling with this, that we have to keep our faith not in the person with addiction, but in God Almighty. I have no hope in my brother alone, nor did I have hope in my father, but I DO have hope in God, knowing that He can save anyone when they turn to Him! Nothing is impossible with God!

      Like

  9. tara8910 December 21, 2016 / 3:52 am

    It is comforting to know God sees who we are through Him. We all need to remember that when we look at others as well.

    Like

    • kalinann December 22, 2016 / 2:47 am

      Amen! Forget how we see other people…what matters is how He sees them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

