How Should Christian Women Dress?

The reason I began blogging all those years ago was my passion for modesty and purity. As a young Christian woman, I was troubled by the lack of modesty displayed by women of God and I wanted to be an encouragement, someone to tell younger girls that modesty does not equal being frumpy or ugly, and it does not mean that we have to dress ourselves in an unappealing way, in a way that hides our shapes, frames, or completely distorts how we look. I wanted young ladies to know that we can and should be confident in the bodies that God gave us, no matter the shape or size, and that when we dress modestly, we are simply respecting our Creator and ourselves. For a very long time, I struggled with the fact that I knew I needed to dress in a way that pleases the Lord and my desire to fit into society. I couldn’t stand dressing up as a younger girl, and the thought of a dress or skirt made me want to cringe. The moment that I got home from church, the only place that my parents asked me to wear dresses and skirts as a form of reverence and respect for the house of God, I would run to my room and change into a pair of jeans. I hated femininity and I hated modesty because I had no confidence in that type of apparel. Then, I began to search out scripture and find out what it says about modesty, and also began to read some books on the topic. At first, I was greatly convicted and felt as if I was doing my faith a great disservice by wearing pants and eventually, I came to the conclusion that I can be more modest in pants at times (think farm work, training horses and so on) as well as safer in them than I would be in a skirt. I’ve gone back and forth on what I believe on the topic of modesty and how Christian women should dress, and I’ve finally come to believe this,

What we wear speaks a great deal about what kind of life we’re living.

Think on this: You are in town and see a man walk into the same restaurant that you’re at. He’s dressed in an expensive suit, a nice tie, brand new shiny shoes, a briefcase in hand. He’s a businessman, or at the very least, someone with an important job. You see a woman in muddy, worn jeans, scuffed cowboy boots with spurs on the end. She works at a ranch, rides horses and probably works outside for most of the day. The Bible says that while man looks on the outer image, God looks in our heart, and this is a wonderful comfort. We can be saved no matter what we wear, what we’ve done, what we’ve said…but I believe that after salvation, we should want to please God and be a Godly witness. Man looks on the outer image. So what do they see when we walk into the room? What sort of conclusion do they draw? I want to be clear. I don’t believe that pants are immodest or sinful if worn properly and if they are the right size. I don’t believe that you must wear skirts or dresses 100% of the time, and I do not think that you’re not saved if you choose to wear immodest clothing. What I am saying is this…we are a gospel witness to everyone that we meet and our clothing says a lot about us. You can tell a lot about a person by how they dress. When people look at us, what are they seeing? Women, are they seeing a woman who dresses nicely, who covers her body out of respect for herself, her Savior, and possibly her future husband? Or do they see a women who resembles the world more than someone who has been born again, out of a sinful world?

#LDS Modesty #Quote by Thomas S. Monson http://sprinklesonmyicecream.blogspot.com/:

 

This is a very hot topic, and I know that it is extremely easy to sound judgemental or holier than thou when discussing modesty and why I believe that modesty is important. Not only do I believe that it is important, but I believe that it should be an attribute that every Christian woman possesses. It may seem as if I am putting too much stock into the outer image and not enough on the spiritual side of things, but remember, we can be a witness in very simple ways. How we talk, how we behave, how we present ourselves. We can be a witness without ever mentioning God. I was in a grocery store on a Wednesday evening, just after church, when an older woman walked up to me and asked if I’d just been at church. I said yes, and she asked where I attended. She knew I had been at church because I was dressed in a certain way. I wonder, would she have asked if I was in leggings and a sweatshirt? If I was in short shorts and a revealing top? And does God not ask us to dress with reverence? Proverbs 11:22 – As a jewel of gold in a swine’s snout, so is a fair woman which is without discretion. What does that word discretion mean in the Bible? The word “discretion” means: 1. The quality of being discreet; circumspection 2. Ability or power to decide responsibly. When we dress and show off our entire bodies, we are not dressing with discretion. When we respect our bodies and dress in a modest manner, we are dressing with discretion, respect and reverence towards God.

In just a moment I’m going to share a wonderful online shop with my fellow Christian ladies (and male readers…Christmas is coming up! There are lots of pretty things here for your favorite women!) that I hope will assist you in finding beautiful modest clothing. All of it can be customized to fit just about any size, shape or height! But before I do, I want to remind you of one more thing that scripture also says about modesty. When a man looks at a woman with lust, he has committed adultery in his heart. Women, you should never be blamed for a man’s mistake in committing adultery or acting out based on lust, but I want you to remember the power that our bodies have. When we dress immodestly, we are pushing our brothers in Christ towards lust, and we can very easily become a stumbling block in a very serious way. Are we trying to assist? Are we trying to help?

I received this beautiful dress from eShakti over Thanksgiving weekend and it has quickly become a new favorite of mine! The biggest perks…I could customize every part of it to suit my needs. As a petite person, it can be quite hard to make sure that my clothes aren’t far too long, and that I won’t get drowned in the things that I wear! The length was changed to suit my needs, as were the sleeves. You can even get the pockets removed! eShakti has a whole shop full of beautiful items that can be changed to suit your size, shape, height and modesty preferences! And if you register now, you can get a $30 off gift coupon + a free customization! It can be very hard to find modest clothing as trends go by and seem to leave modesty behind, but eShakti makes it possible and very, very easy! It’s always wonderful to partner up with eShakti and this is the second time that I’ve been able to collaborate with them. They are a total joy to work with!

Find eShakti on Social Media:

 

35 thoughts on “How Should Christian Women Dress?

  1. Scott LaPierre December 1, 2016 / 11:21 pm

    Kay,
    This is a wonderful post. Thanks for tackling this subject. Seems to be an area of acceptable compromise for many Christians.

    I think it takes an amount of courage to write this, because so often those dressing immodestly accuse those promoting modesty of being legalistic.

    I appreciate what you’re doing!

    Like

    • kalinann December 2, 2016 / 1:27 am

      Thanks so much! I have to admit, modesty is one of the hardest things for me to work up the courage to write about. Such a hot topic, and you’re right; often times, people are accused of being legalistic when discussing why they believe modesty matters! I was one of those people once, who thought modesty was a legalistic thing and didn’t truly matter in God’s eyes. This is why it’s so important to deliver the truth in as much love as possible!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalia (2015horse) December 2, 2016 / 12:04 am

    Thank you for taking the time to post. This is really good…

    Like

  3. Katy Kauffman December 2, 2016 / 3:41 am

    Remembering to show respect for God is a big thing when it comes to modesty. Also, we train men to relate to us in a certain way when we dress immodestly. We want them to remember a woman’s soul can be the most attractive thing about her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann December 2, 2016 / 2:55 pm

      Yes! What are we putting their attention towards? I think most women will say that they would rather have a man notice them based on who they are as a person. Their minds, their hearts, their souls. Bodies will fade and change with time, and who we are is the most important thing!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Terri's Thoughts December 2, 2016 / 4:36 am

    I really have enjoyed reading this, great insight and I agree with you 100 %
    this reminds me I need to do a review on my eshakti dress to

    Like

  5. Rachael December 2, 2016 / 3:01 pm

    Dressing modestly isn’t the same for every woman. I barely have a shape and wearing leggings isn’t “sexy” on me. I wear them all the time with sweatshirts, dresses, and long shirts or tunics; however, this attire might look differently on another woman. My point is this, i whole-heartedly agree with dressing modestly out of respect for yourself and others and especially out of respect for God, but the judgement of what is or is not modest is between that woman and God. I appreciate your perspective, but I wouldn’t use specifics like naming jeans or leggings. I’m sure God is fine with what we wear to church regardless if it’s a dress or not. We have to be careful not to make church a club at which we dress to fit in there too. If one has a close relationship with God then he/she knows what’s expected of him/her. Just because someone wears something you wouldn’t doesn’t mean they have compromised in some way. It just means you would if you wore it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • kalinann December 2, 2016 / 3:17 pm

      Rachael, notice that I never said anything against jeans. I wear jeans, I’m wearing a pair right now as I bundle up to go work with my horses. I know a few women who wear leggings but also wear longer tops or tunics to cover certain places to make them more modest, as you said you do, which would mean that for you, they’ve been made modest because you are making sure that you wear them properly. I never wrote out a list of the things to wear, and the things not to wear, nor did I ever say that we must wear dresses. While it IS my personal conviction to wear dresses at church because I believe it is a sign of reverence (for me) I do not go as far to say that every woman must wear dresses or skirts. I do believe this; when we enter a church, we are entering God’s house. If I were to go to a modern day king’s castle, what would I want to wear in that king’s presence? I believe that we should dress nicely in our King of King’s house, but if you read the post, you’ll notice that I never gave exact guidelines.

      The church should never become a social club, where we wear things to impress others, but I do believe that a guideline or dress code could be beneficial in a church for all of the reasons I listed in my post. Who are we representing, and are we respecting the sanctity of the Lord’s church?

      Thank so much for commenting and reading my post!

      Liked by 2 people

      • ellemadlo March 19, 2017 / 2:17 am

        Hi Kalinann,

        I think it is a very noble cause to tackle this point. Thank you for being unashamed of your views and what you feel like the Lord has revealed to you. We, as Jesus-lovers, can in turn, think and pray about what you have told us and glean something from it.

        But I must disagree with one thing. You said that when we enter in the church, we are entering in the King’s castle – His presence. But the Word says we are always in His presence. He lives in us and we in Him. He is even part of us. And the Lord sees our heart of reverence for Him, not necessarily our body of reverence.

        I do, however, think it is necessary for girls and women to dress responsibly. When we are wearing something that made a man think in the wrong way, or made a girl want to show her body, the responsibility is on us. Now, if we are modest and a man still lusts, it’s not on us. But when we are leading men astray, we are not being good representatives of our Daddy.

        I hope so very sincerely that this came across in love and that you feel no rejection from it. I just wanted to get that out there.

        Much love,
        Elle
        http://www.ellelovett.com

        Like

      • kalinann March 20, 2017 / 6:27 pm

        Hey, Elle! Thanks for commenting.

        I completely agree that we are always in His presence, hence the name of my blog, “The Divine Presence.” We are always with God, He is within us. What I meant by referring to the church as His “castle” was simply that it is a place specifically meant for a Christian gathering, purely for worship and total reverence. We should respect such a sacred place. Every moment we have with God, whether it is in church or in our bedroom in the wee hours of night, is precious, but when we go to church we are getting ready, actively preparing…and ought to do that with great reverence in my opinion. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Mariah Conaway December 2, 2016 / 8:07 pm

      Rachel, I think you are right. Modesty is between the girl and God. But every woman has some womanly shape. I’m not saying it is evil, for you to wear leggings, however, I would never wear them, as I think they accent the body too much. Some leggings are more modest than others, for example, I’ve seen leggings on girls, that were basically see-through, which is NOT okay. People undermine modesty all the time which is sad. We are so often stumbling blocks to men. We don’t understand their emotions, because we don’t have the same type. They can so easily be set off into thinking things they shouldn’t think. Dressing modestly isn’t about how much you cover up, it is about how much you reveal.

      Liked by 2 people

      • kalinann December 2, 2016 / 8:22 pm

        Agreed completely, Mariah! Thanks so much for your comment.

        Like

  6. Starla Jimenez December 2, 2016 / 4:37 pm

    Great article and love the green dress. I enjoyed this quote, What we wear speaks a great deal about what kind of life we’re living.”

    Like

  7. Baby Jeudy Dorzion December 3, 2016 / 4:09 am

    Great article!! You are completely right!! This world is always painting a horrible picture of modesty that scares women away. It should not be that , our body is th church and we need to dress it appropriately and beautiful.

    Like

    • kalinann December 4, 2016 / 1:00 am

      Thanks so much! You’re totally right. There is a very negative attitude surrounding the idea of modesty, and it’s so sad!

      Like

  8. tara8910 December 4, 2016 / 3:50 am

    I love the outfit you pictured. We can be modest and still look good. You are right–how we dress reflects how we live.

    Like

  9. Kristi December 5, 2016 / 5:01 am

    This is a difficult topic to discuss but you did it beautifully. Some don’t even understand this issue so it’s a good thing to discuss. It needs to be discussed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann December 5, 2016 / 3:28 pm

      Thanks so much, Kristi! It definitely is a hard topic. It’s very easy to come across as judgemental or rude, and also very easy to come across as too relaxed on such an important topic that truly does need to have some light shed on it!

      Like

  10. Amy Christensen December 5, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    Kaliann, you have some great insight into God’s word and His desire for a woman’s life. I have a faith and fashion blog and always take into consideration what my outfits are saying to the world that views fashion blogs. I have found a number of bloggers that are modesty oriented in the things they wear. Thanks for posting your thoughts. Have a great day! – Amy
    http://stylingrannymama.com/

    Like

    • kalinann December 5, 2016 / 3:28 pm

      Thank you, Amy! I follow quite a few wonderful faith inspired/modest fashion blogs, and they are still great encouragements to me!

      Like

  11. Heather December 5, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    Thank you for sharing your heart. Modesty is so important, but you are so right, it’s easy to sound holier than thou, of condemning. And sometimes if we focus too much on modesty, we lose our focus. But modesty really isn’t that hard if it truly stems from your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Grace December 6, 2016 / 8:33 pm

    There are so many great and cute styles that are modest! It doesn’t mean frumpy!

    Like

    • kalinann December 6, 2016 / 11:16 pm

      Yes! And there seem to be more and more companies coming out with clothes that you can customize online!

      Like

  13. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) December 6, 2016 / 10:29 pm

    What a great post and I have never heard of this company. I too am petite so have a hard time getting the right fit – especially length. I’ll have to check them out.

    Like

    • kalinann December 6, 2016 / 11:15 pm

      They are wonderful! I’ve had great experiences with them so far. Very helpful customer service, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

