What Does It Take?

I have a question for you all…and I want you to think on this. Don’t just read it and move on, don’t answer it quickly in your head because you think that your faith is strong enough that it will never waver. Remember when Peter denied Jesus, remember when King David turned from God, remember when so many followers of Christ lost their faith, even for a time. So, remember this as you ponder my question; we are all capable of losing our faith just like Peter did. We are all capable of denying our Savior in tough times. We are all capable of backsliding. In the deepest parts of our heart, we are still sinners. We are still fighting a battle with Satan, and he will take any chance he gets to win our hearts over, even if it is for five minutes, five days, five years, or a lifetime. Peter denied Him three times. If Peter could deny Him after he traveled with Him for so long, so can we.

What Does It Take For Us To Lose Faith?

Who has the power to take away our faith, even if it is for a moment? Who has the power to make us lose that faith and guide us into a sinful situation of backsliding? Who-or what- has enough power to take a hold of us and make us deny Him? Donald Trump? Hillary Clinton? The constant backsliding of America? Could it be one of your children who have started to live a sinful lifestyle? Could it be a spouse who is mean, or perhaps cheats on you? Could it be a parent who degrades you? What has the power to make us lose faith? An illness? The death of a family member? Losing a close friend? Being betrayed by someone? For a very long time, I allowed my situations to control my faith and I let my situations steer me as I made a very feeble attempt to walk with God. But the wheel of my heart would get turned, and I’d go the wrong way. I’d take the wrong turn. I hit a lot of dead ends in my faith. I felt like I was getting nowhere. My prayer life was horrible, I never studied the Bible, I stopped witnessing so boldly, I didn’t want to go to church or listen to sermons. Suddenly, the world began to look very appealing. I thought, wow, how nice would it be…to be a part of the world, and not have to worry about the things of God? How easy would my life be if I wasn’t worried about going to this church service, or reading my Bible each day? What caused my backsliding? What made me get so lukewarm? I lost my faith because I let my hard situations get to me. Somewhere along the line, I forgot how powerful God is. I let myself get disheartened. God wasn’t fixing anything in my life, so my attempts to follow Him seemed to be pointless. And then I realized this; God is not a genie in the bottle, and He owes me nothing. He could have fixed every problem I had ever faced in a blink of an eye, but He didn’t. He didn’t fix those things for a reason. They made me into a stronger Christian. When I stopped being so focused on myself and how I wanted my life to go, I was able to see His plan clearly. All I needed was to get to the end of myself, as my Pastor would say, and get to Him. He has no end. He never loses strength. I do, but He sure doesn’t.

Peter lost faith after he watched Jesus die on the cross. He was afraid for his own life, and I’m sure that he was doubting Jesus at that point. After all…He died. The Savior, the Son of God, dead. That would be a good reason to doubt things. So, he denied Him. We read on and see that he got his faith back. 1st Peter 1:3 says this, Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. He found his faith through the resurrection of Jesus Christ. We can find our faith in the same thing. We may look at America today and think to ourselves, this will never get better. We may think that revival will never happen, but Christian, let me remind you of Ninevah. Let’s read Jonah chapter 3.

1 And the word of the Lord came unto Jonah the second time, saying,

Arise, go unto Nineveh, that great city, and preach unto it the preaching that I bid thee.

So Jonah arose, and went unto Nineveh, according to the word of the Lord. Now Nineveh was an exceeding great city of three days’ journey.

And Jonah began to enter into the city a day’s journey, and he cried, and said, Yet forty days, and Nineveh shall be overthrown.

So the people of Nineveh believed God, and proclaimed a fast, and put on sackcloth, from the greatest of them even to the least of them.

For word came unto the king of Nineveh, and he arose from his throne, and he laid his robe from him, and covered him with sackcloth, and sat in ashes.

And he caused it to be proclaimed and published through Nineveh by the decree of the king and his nobles, saying, Let neither man nor beast, herd nor flock, taste any thing: let them not feed, nor drink water:

But let man and beast be covered with sackcloth, and cry mightily unto God: yea, let them turn every one from his evil way, and from the violence that is in their hands.

Who can tell if God will turn and repent, and turn away from his fierce anger, that we perish not?

10 And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and he did it not.

A revival in a sinful place, not unlike America. God used Jonah to stir up a great revival. One of the greatest revivals that this world has ever seen. Do we not serve the same God who created this revival? Do we not serve the same Jesus who rose again on the third day? I think of the martyr Polycarp, and what we read about him in Foxe’s Book of Martyrs. As he was being killed brutally for his faith, these were his words when he was told to deny Him:

We serve the same God that Polycarp served. We may not have been serving him for 86 years, but we are still serving Him day by day. Years do not matter. We still have a personal relationship with Christ. These people urged Polycarp-deny Him! We will release you! But still, he did not waver in his faith. He looked death in the eye, and he proclaimed the name of Jesus Christ with boldness and pride for His Savior.

I ask again…what does it take for us to lose faith?

This country is in a very dangerous place, I will not deny it. But God is still capable of sending revival. Your life may be hard right now, but God is still capable of using it to His glory. He does not change, and He created you for a purpose. He created this country for a purpose, and I know that if His people humble themselves and pray, if His people rise up as a remnant of God and begin serving Him wholeheartedly, this nation will be healed. There is no if, and there is no but. He says I will. He is ready to fulfill His end of the bargain, are we? Are we willing to take things seriously? The biggest problem in America today, the biggest problem in our personal lives today, is that we have stopped taking God seriously. We are doubting Him far too much, and we are trusting in politicians far too much. Where do we put our faith? We’ve jumped on the boat with Jonah, ready to flee from Ninevah and get somewhere easy. We’ve jumped on the boat with Jonah, ready to get away from what He is calling us to do because we know it’s gonna be difficult. But all it took for Ninevah was one man dedicated to serving God…one man who realized that the boat to Tarshish wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. One man. God’s greatest revivals have come from a small remnant of believers. Can we not rise up and be a remnant?

Psalms 9:10 – And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.

 Zechariah 8:6-12 – Thus says the LORD of hosts, ‘If it is too difficult in the sight of the remnant of this people in those days, will it also be too difficult in My sight?’ declares the LORD of hosts. “Thus says the LORD of hosts, ‘Behold, I am going to save My people from the land of the east and from the land of the west; and I will bring them back and they will live in the midst of Jerusalem; and they shall be My people, and I will be their God in truth and righteousness.

44 thoughts on “What Does It Take?

  1. Terri's Thoughts October 28, 2016 / 3:53 am

    Our world is a mess. I love this post though, so thoifht provoking.

    Like

    • kalinann October 29, 2016 / 12:59 am

      Thank you, Terri! It is a big mess, but God is great at cleaning!

      Like

  2. GodlyDivaGal October 28, 2016 / 9:40 pm

    God never pulls away from us

    Like

    • kalinann October 29, 2016 / 12:59 am

      Amen! Even when we pull away from Him!

      Like

  3. LaVonne Long October 29, 2016 / 1:50 am

    I remind myself often that God is not a genie. I also pray for an increase of faith a lot. Thanks for this reminder post! I needed it.

    Like

  4. Laura O'Neill (@LauraOinAK) October 29, 2016 / 3:08 am

    Very interesting post.

    It is very easy to lose your way in our culture.

    “God is not a genie in the bottle, and He owes me nothing.” YES!!! It is easy to say if God doesn’t rescue us, then maybe there isn’t really a God. But, there are those who recognize that God walks alongside us and allows those trials to make us stronger. However, it is human nature to not want suffering, even if it is for our own growth.

    Like

    • kalinann October 30, 2016 / 1:22 am

      Thanks so much for reading! No one likes suffering, but it does us good to remember that without rain, we can’t have rainbows, or growth!

      Like

  5. GodlyDivaGal October 31, 2016 / 1:13 am

    SO important that we as Christians read the Word EVERY day!

    Like

    • kalinann October 31, 2016 / 1:14 am

      Absolutely! I realized long ago that most of my doubts and issues regarding my faith were there because I did not read His word often!

      Like

    • kalinann October 31, 2016 / 1:32 am

      Living by faith is hard, but with Him, we can have it!

      Like

  6. Starla J @ Pressing In and Pressing On October 31, 2016 / 1:44 am

    Yes, we are all capable of falling short and even worse..completely coming short. I want revival! Revival that comes purely from God, a complete change of heart. Thank you for your encouragement!

    Like

    • kalinann October 31, 2016 / 1:52 am

      Amen! We need revival and God’s intervention! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  7. Kristi October 31, 2016 / 4:30 am

    I think Satan is always trying to find ways to encourage us to lose our faith. Like he did with Job and Peter, he will try to do to us. To be faithful and steadfast and aware that he is trying to destroy us to me is the first step. The next is clinging to Christ with all that we have.

    Like

    • kalinann October 31, 2016 / 1:49 pm

      Yes! We also have to remember that God allowed Satan to try Job, to make Job stronger and I suppose, to prove something. He can always use those situations for good, to better His followers, and that is something that comforts me. Knowing that God is there and He knows all about the situation.

      Like

  8. Terri's Thoughts October 31, 2016 / 2:06 pm

    it’s easy to lose faith when prayers don’t get answered right away. We need to remember that God is in control.

    Like

  9. Mihaela Echols October 31, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    AMEN AMEN AMEN Our God is bigger then what goes on in the world. Our God can move mountains and America can be revived no matter who is president. Awesome post!

    Like

  10. Amy Christensen October 31, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    The word long suffering comes to mind. Through difficulties and set back we can become long sufferers just as our God is, if we allow His Spirit full reign. Thanks for this reminder to keep coming back to Him! – Amy
    http://stylingrannymama.com/

    Like

  11. Caroline November 1, 2016 / 12:02 am

    Whew that last Psalm is so good. We must remain steadfast! It’s not easy, but it is possible

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:16 am

      Never a shortage of good Psalms!

      Like

  12. tara8910 November 1, 2016 / 2:28 am

    I have never thought of the story of Jonah as a revival, but I guess it really was. This is very encouraging. Thank you!

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:12 pm

      It was a big revival! 🙂

      3 So Jonah arose, and went unto Nineveh, according to the word of the Lord. Now Nineveh was an exceeding great city of three days’ journey.

      4 And Jonah began to enter into the city a day’s journey, and he cried, and said, Yet forty days, and Nineveh shall be overthrown.

      5 So the people of Nineveh believed God, and proclaimed a fast, and put on sackcloth, from the greatest of them even to the least of them.

      6 For word came unto the king of Nineveh, and he arose from his throne, and he laid his robe from him, and covered him with sackcloth, and sat in ashes.

      7 And he caused it to be proclaimed and published through Nineveh by the decree of the king and his nobles, saying, Let neither man nor beast, herd nor flock, taste any thing: let them not feed, nor drink water:

      8 But let man and beast be covered with sackcloth, and cry mightily unto God: yea, let them turn every one from his evil way, and from the violence that is in their hands.

      9 Who can tell if God will turn and repent, and turn away from his fierce anger, that we perish not?

      10 And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and he did it not.

      Thousands of people, turning from their ways and repenting, as well as the king of Ninevah! 🙂

      Like

  13. Scott LaPierre November 1, 2016 / 4:03 am

    Hi Kalinann,
    I don’t really have a response to your question; in other words, I’m not sure what would make people lose faith.

    What I thought of instead – as I was trying to determine an answer – was this: if people did lose faith, wouldn’t it mean they never had saving faith to begin with? Two passages came to mind that
    1 John 2:19 They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would have continued with us; but they went out that they might be made manifest, that none of them were of us.
    Matthew 7:23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

    In the second verse, it’s Jesus’ use of the word “never” showing there’d never been genuine regeneration.

    The fact that Peter, David, and others, returned to the Lord shows their faith had been sincere.

    By the way, I really appreciate the seriousness with which you consider your relationship with Christ. All your posts show such a sincerity and sobriety.

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:19 pm

      Thanks so much, Scott!
      I think it depends on your faith and a lot of details. When I was first saved, I experienced a big loss of faith for various reasons. I was saved, but neglected the Bible and prayer. I never doubted God’s existence but I did doubt my salvation. I’ve known some very amazing preachers to admit that they also doubted things during hard times in their faith, like salvation, His existence, and so on, because they were facing such difficult trials. Most of them also admit that they got discouraged and stopped reading the Bible and seeking Him out quite as often. My Pastor spoke on this topic on Sunday, in regards to his own salvation and testimony. He was saved when he was 14 but soon went away from God, didn’t attend church or study the Bible or spend as much time in prayer as needed, and according to him, his lack of faith was so bad that he would say that year was the worst year of his life before he got back on track.

      There are certainly a lot of false converts in the world who think they have earnest faith but do not, and are surprised when they lose it (or will be surprised when they meet Jesus, as that verse says!) but I do think that there are Christians who are genuinely saved and experience a loss of faith for a time. But if you are a Christian, I don’t believe it will last long and there are a lot of reasons behind it. Most, if not all, losses of faith result in us ignoring our part of the relationship with God! I think of the prodigal son, who left for a time but returned. If you are a Christian, you will return!

      Like

  14. Rodney Olsen November 1, 2016 / 7:20 am

    It is easy to become disheartened and discouraged when we focus on the world around us rather than the one who created and rules over the world. It is in those times that we can either cling even tighter to Jesus or begin to lose faith.

    This post is a great reminder to cling to Jesus, knowing that he will never fail us.

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:19 pm

      Absolutely! Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

  15. GodlyDivaGal November 1, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Paul says that we are to work out our salvation EVERY day with fear and trembling

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:20 pm

      One of the most important verses in scripture, I think!

      Like

  16. Chelsea Lynn November 1, 2016 / 4:29 pm

    It’s crazy how quickly Satan can steal our attention when we let our guard down for a minute! Thank you for sharing! Xx

    Like

  17. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) November 2, 2016 / 12:39 am

    My husband did a Sunday School class on Jonah once and he likened the revival in Ninevah to the one in Scotland some years ago. It was amazing to hear what all happened. God is so amazing! Thanks for these reminders.

    Like

    • kalinann November 2, 2016 / 12:42 am

      It’s an amazing story! One of my favorites!

      Like

  18. Heather Hart November 2, 2016 / 1:41 pm

    I think we lose faith when we take our eyes of Jesus. Like when Peter was walking on the water, he did fine while he was focused on Christ, but when he got distracted he started to sink.

    Like

    • kalinann November 3, 2016 / 2:08 pm

      Yes! And it makes me wonder, what is our focus on when it’s not on Jesus? Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Tami November 3, 2016 / 4:35 am

    I have grown away from God. I realize it was just me. This was very refreshing to me in a time where I need it most.

    Like

    • kalinann November 3, 2016 / 2:08 pm

      I’m so happy it touched you, Tami!

      Like

  20. Taria Shondell November 3, 2016 / 9:12 am

    It only takes a small remnant to start a revival! Wow! Thank you for the reminder that we need to keep the faith regardless of what comes our way. For GOD has proven time & time again that he can and WILL deliver us from the enemy!

    Like

    • kalinann November 3, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      Amen! My church speaks on that small remnant a lot. The first time I heard my pastor talk about it, I was so inspired!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. wifemummynurse November 3, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    As much as I sometimes would have liked God to be more like a genie in a bottle, when I look back on how things turned out, I’m glad he did not give me what I wanted. It causes me to rely on Him more and continue seeking His face.

    Like

    • kalinann November 3, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      Amen! It always seems hard and not worth it when we’re going through those storms, but afterwards, we’re able to see the beauty of them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

