What God Gives Us.

There is a saying out there that I’m sure we’ve all heard someone say to us during tough times and hard situations. God never gives us more than we can handle. I’ve heard it. I was told that when I was dealing with constant sickness years ago, I was told that when I began voicing my struggle over my father and brothers drug addiction, I was told that when my father died. I’ve been told that all throughout my life. When a girl struggles with anxiety and tends to worry about more than is normal, she gets told that a lot. Most people would say that saying helps calm their nerves, but for me…it just made things worse. Before I rededicated my life to Him and began to lay my heavy baggage at the alter, I was very aware that the popular saying was a lie. God had given me way more than I could handle on my own. My family couldn’t help. My friends couldn’t help. No one could get rid of those problems, even with hours spent praying for me, even with all of the sweet advice, until I was willing to open my eyes and realize that God was ready to bare my burdens if only I’d hand them to Him. But you see, I couldn’t deal with those problems. A dying, drug addicted father is way more than a young teenage girl can handle on her own. The stress that this life had put on me was way more than I could handle on my own. Most people would say that I was coping, and I guess that just says that I’m a good actor, because I wasn’t. I wasn’t sleeping at night. I had no peace in my life.

And then, I turned it over to God.

I’ve always thought that I’d be one to fall into some sort of addiction very easily because of how I am. How I think. How I feel. I’m highly sensitive, I have an anxiety disorder of some sort, I get depressed very easily. A few more years of this kind of stress and I think anyone without God would be a drug addict or an alcoholic or something. I don’t know what I’d turn to, but without God, there would have to be something. Some sort of horrible replacement. I come from a long line of addicts, it’s true. A long line of people who have mental issues. Lots of anxiety. Lots of depression. Lots of problems. We’re a happy, solid bunch. (I say this with sarcasm.) But then…I turned it over to God. Just like a lot of folks in my family did. And that made all the difference in my life.

Look at some heroes of the faith. Do you think they could handle life without God? Do you think that King David could’ve handled losing so much of his family without God? Do you think that Daniel could’ve handled being thrown into the lion’s den without God? Just like Daniel would have been devoured by lions if he did not have God there to intercede, we would be devoured by sin. Maybe your problem wouldn’t be addiction. Maybe it would be stress. Sinful relationships. Failure. Who knows, there are a lot of places that we could all end up. Maybe you’ll have a prosperous life like the Bible says happens to unbelievers, but in the end, you lose it all. You lay on your death bed somewhere and realize that you need God now more than ever. You needed Him through your entire life…and now that you have Him, it’s too late to serve Him. Either way…we need God. We can’t handle this life without Him, or anything that it throws at us. Sometimes, God Himself gives us more than we can handle on purpose. Look at Jonah- my Pastor asked this question a few weeks ago. “Who tossed Jonah into the sea?” Who created that storm that made the boat toss and turn? That made even the seasoned sailors fear for their lives? In Jonah chapter 1, we read that the men tossed Jonah into the sea, but then later on, we read that God did. God worked through that storm that He created and He tossed Jonah into the sea in order to bring Jonah back to Him, and get him to where he needed to be. This wasn’t just about getting Jonah somewhere physical like Jonah, he needed to be in a better place spiritually, too. Sometimes, God gives us more than we can handle so we turn to Him.

"With renewed faith Gideon and Purah roused their mini army and launched a night attack. This threw the Midians into a panic and they slaughtered each other in confusion. It was a rout. Not one of Gideons three hundred perished in the battle. God gave them more than they could handle to force them to rely wholly on him.  When were confronted with an impossible situation or trial Gideons three hundred preach to us that 'salvation is from the Lᴏʀᴅ' (Psalm 37:39) and 'if God is for us who can b...:

Lazarus couldn’t have raised himself from the dead. Jonah couldn’t have survived that storm. Then, we can think about heroes that we grew up learning about. Could the man who wrote the hymn It Is Well survive all that he went through and still be able to say it is well with my soul? He lost his entire family. Everything. But still, it was well. He had a peace that no one could give him but Jesus Christ. Could Dietrich Bonhoeffer go to the place where he would be killed with peace in his heart without Jesus Christ interceded? Could Polycarp stand at the feet of his killers still proclaiming God’s name without God Himself interceded for him? Those men stood up for God even when it meant dying for Him. That is…a lot of stress. How could they handle that with peace when we can barely handle the stress of waiting in a long line at a store without having a panic attack?

This life. Man, is it terrifying. We’ve got that scary election coming up and we’re stuck between two candidates, both of which I’m not entirely fond of, but we’re stuck. We’ve got hurricanes, crazy storms hitting us every time we look up. We’ve got riots and angry people killing others based on what kind of uniform they wear or what color their skin is. Hate is everywhere. How do we handle this? Maybe I’m weak, but I can’t handle my life without God. I can’t handle everything that gets thrown at me without Him. But that’s the point. The point of this life was never to see who is the strongest and who can survive the longest without Him. He is the entire point. Getting close to Him, doing what He calls us to do, finding a peace that only He can offer and then going out and sharing that peace with others. That is our calling. That is our purpose. He is our purpose. It’s not survival of the fittest, and that is a good, good thing, because none of us would win in the end. Eventually, even if our life was all sunshine and rainbows here on earth, we wouldn’t be able to handle going to the judgement seat and getting into Heaven without God.

Isaiah 43:2 says this, When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” God gives us this kind of promise time and time again for a reason. He is fully aware that without Him, those rivers would drown us. That fire would burn us. Why else would He offer to protect us from them? And He is always willing to be with us as we go through the fire and the water and the dark valleys, we just have to be willing to give our lives to Him. God sends us storms to remind us that we still need a Savior. We still need to repent and turn our lives over to Him. What would the point of them be if we could handle them all by ourselves? Then, there would be no need for God.

And then, even after we come to Him, He’ll still use storms. There’s this saying…

Life changes happen daily. Some changes cause pain while others bring happiness in our lives. When you feel weak and like you're breaking we must remember our soul is always rooting for us! See the positivity in your adversity. "God will never give you more than you can handle." #life #growth #Godfirst #thenyou by natdam78:

Why do Christians still suffer? Why am I still dealing with my problems? Why doesn’t God remove them the moment we’re saved? Because we are always, always growing. We always have to be growing spiritually. There will never be a point in this life that God will look down on us and say, “That Christian is perfect. They’re done! They don’t need to grow anymore.”David Ring is a preacher who has cerebral palsy, and he once hinted on this topic at a Gaither concert. He said that he is still in the oven and God is still cooking, and he’s only going to be ready and perfect when he gets to Heaven. Our journey is over the day we get to Heaven, not a day before. That is when we will be made perfect, but now is not that time. We still have to grow. I have to swallow my pride and thank God for the storms that He has sent me because those storms have molded me into who I am today. Those storms are my biggest inspirations, the best reminders to keep going and to stay close with God so I don’t lose everything based on my weaknesses, and boy, am I weak. The moment I turn away from God is the moment that I stop growing as a Christian, and the moment that I lose everything I had with Him. And I have a lot with Him. He uses these storms to remind us of all that we do have, so that we can have a thankful heart. He uses these storms to remind us that with God on our side, we can get through anything. These storms give us a testimony, a way to reach others, and a great reason to reach others. Don’t we want others to have that peace from God?

What does God give us? He gives us a lot. He gives us storms, hard times. He tosses us up but He is capable of picking us back up. He gives us peace, and grace, and the strength to get through. God gives us a lot.

 

38 thoughts on “What God Gives Us.

  1. Becky (So Very Blessed) October 24, 2016 / 3:36 pm

    Wow, you have really gone through a lot in your life. That phrase has always bothered me, too. One, because I don’t think God “gives” us some things. I think they are the result of sin that He didn’t cause, but He can bring good from. Two, because almost everything in life is too much for us to handle! It’s just not more than HE can handle. Thanks for writing this post.

    Like

    • kalinann October 24, 2016 / 11:26 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Becky! We see the results of sin so often. He lets us go through hard times because of what we do! Just like King David!

      Like

  2. GodlyDivaGal October 24, 2016 / 11:21 pm

    God is there with us – no matter what we are going through

    Like

  3. GodlyDivaGal October 25, 2016 / 1:24 am

    If we would only surrender everything to Him….

    Like

  4. Taria Shondell October 25, 2016 / 11:25 am

    Thank you for the reminder through your beautiful testimony. We have to give it all to GOD and trust that he will never drop it… Wow! I pray GOD continue to use you to be a blessing to others.

    Like

  5. Heather Hart October 25, 2016 / 1:46 pm

    One of my friends always says, “God never gives us more than HE can handle.” Because you are 100% right, we can’t do it on our own, but we can do it through Christ.

    Like

    • kalinann October 25, 2016 / 2:16 pm

      Extremely true! Just like Philippians 4:13 says, we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us. He is perfectly capable of handling any situation!

      Like

  6. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) October 25, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    So true. I am so glad that God has promised to work everything together for good to those of us who love Him and are called according to His purpose. I’m going through a hard time right now with my sister’s death and being unable to make it to her before she died (I was in a car accident on my way to see her 11 hours drive away!), but God is so faithful. He took care of me. I trust Him. i don’t know why He prevented me going down yet – and I don’t have to know – but I trust Him through it all. Sometimes life hurts but Jesus is my Comforter. Always.

    Like

    • kalinann October 26, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      I’m so sorry for your loss, Amy. He is always faithful! I went through a similar situation with my father, unable to see him right before he passed, and it was very hard! My prayers are with you!

      Like

  7. Cassie Celestain October 25, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    Thank you for this reminder! As my family deals with a second death of young cousins this is needed!

    Like

    • kalinann October 26, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      Cassie, I am so sorry for your loss and my prayers are with your family!

      Like

  8. Terri's Thoughts October 26, 2016 / 5:49 am

    great post. he gives us things to increase our faith and fully rely on him as he is the only one with the answers

    Like

    • kalinann October 26, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      Thanks so much for commenting, Terri!

      Like

  9. givingbirthtoaqueen October 26, 2016 / 8:08 am

    You are an overcomer!!!

    Like

  10. Leigh Powers October 26, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    So true. It’s not that God doesn’t give us more than we can handle–it’s that God gives us what we need to thrive and live victoriously in the midst of whatever comes our way.

    Like

    • kalinann October 26, 2016 / 2:08 pm

      He’s always ready to make us stronger and always wants us to be closer to Him!

      Like

  11. GodlyDivaGal October 26, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    We need to be surrendering our lives to God every day 🙂

    Like

    • kalinann October 27, 2016 / 3:45 pm

      Amen! Our lives would be so much better!

      Like

  12. Laura Prater October 27, 2016 / 3:43 pm

    What a beautiful reminder and testimony! This is so true-we need to be surrendering our all to him each day!

    Like

  13. jesusglitter October 28, 2016 / 3:44 am

    This is beautiful! It is all about our focus! As soon as we take our eyes off God we begin to sink like Peter. We begin to think about our circumstances from the world’s perspective rather than God’s view. Life can be hard and unfair, but I’m so thankful in the deepest of valleys if I just keep my eyes focused on Him, I don’t have to like what is happening, but I know that I’m not alone. This is how God uses our stories for His glory and He is doing that through you.

    Like

    • kalinann October 29, 2016 / 1:20 am

      Thank you so much for your sweet words! Amen to you; focusing on Him makes all the difference in the world!

      Like

  14. Caroline October 28, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    Needed this! Grow through what you go through. That is so spot on for me right now

    Like

  15. Kristi October 28, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    Yes, God allows us to go through these almost suffocating times so that we will choose the breath of life and rely on Him and his faithfulness.

    Like

  16. GodlyDivaGal October 31, 2016 / 1:30 am

    If God gives us Jesus…that’s a pretty good gift, I would say 🙂

    Like

  17. Starla J @ Pressing In and Pressing On October 31, 2016 / 1:51 am

    I’ve been told this several times too. In reality, God does stretch us. The fiery trials in life are to get us to focus and trust in Him. Just as you mentioned above. I enjoyed this reminder. Thank you

    Like

    • kalinann October 31, 2016 / 1:52 am

      Thanks so much for commenting, Starla!

      Like

  18. tara8910 November 1, 2016 / 2:44 am

    It really is comforting to know that God wants us to depend on him and He is more than able!

    Like

    • kalinann November 1, 2016 / 2:29 pm

      Yes! He is always there to provide for us!

      Like

Leave a Reply

