Having A Heart That Is Fixed.

A few weeks ago, I was studying in Psalm 57 and verse 7 seemed to leap out at me. Verse 7 says, “My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.” A very simple verse, but an inspiring one for me nonetheless. I thought about those words…my heart is fixed. On what is my heart fixed? What is my ultimate focus in life? What is my purpose? My priority? These verses stuck into my heart and mind throughout the next few weeks. I would be studying other books in the Bible, praying, or simply going along with life and partaking in the usual run of the mill things, and there would that phrase be, leaping out of my heart. My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed. I’ve talked a bit about storms lately, and how we can overcome the spiritual storms with faith, through His Word and Prayer, especially. This phrase has been a great reminder for me as I’ve gone through yet another spiritual storm. Whenever I felt like giving up, like I was far too weak, I’d remember those words in Psalm 57. And then, tonight during Bible study, we read in Psalm 108. The first verse in Psalm 108 says this,O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.” How odd…another verse that says the same thing, another verse about singing and giving praise to God. Another challenge for me, another question; what is my heart fixed on? You see, if our hearts are not fixed on Jesus alone, we will struggle with various things.


1.) We Can’t Praise When Our Heart Isn’t Fixed on Him.

God has to be our priority, and we have to acknowledge that following Him is our ultimate purpose in life. We can’t praise God while half of our heart is fixed on something else. We have to devote 100% of ourselves to Him in order to worship Him. The Bible says that we can not serve Baal and serve God, we can not straddle the fence and have one side in the world and one side in the church. No matter what the other half of our heart is fixed on, whether it is a sinful idol or even something that is not exactly sinful on its own, we have to rip it away and give every ounce of our beings to God and God alone. Charles Spurgeon said this on what God should be to us.

“If Christ is not all to you He is nothing to you. He will never go into partnership as a part Saviour of men. If He be something He must be everything, and if He be not everything He is nothing to you.”
Charles Haddon Spurgeon

God will not accept praise unless He is absolutely everything to us. The most important things in our lives. What good is our praise if we are glancing away from Him during our praying and singing, wishing to be away from Him and with the other thing that our heart is fixed on? This convicted me greatly because I have made so many things into false idols. I have had to learn that I can not truly praise and worship God if He is not everything to me. I can not serve two God’s, He is the only one for us. And where would we be without true worship?

2.) We Can’t Be Strong If Our Heart Isn’t Fixed On Him.

If God is not our everything, we will backslide. We will never stay where He wants us to be simply because we have other priorities, and eventually, we’re going to have to choose. God is going to demand your time-every bit of it-and He is going to demand your devotion and dedication to Him and His Will. He can not use anyone who is constantly looking back into the world. Remember what happened to Lot’s wife when she looked back. Why did she look back into the world? Her heart wasn’t fixed on God. She was going the right way, Christian! She was so close to safety! But she just couldn’t stay strong…she left part of her heart there in that sinful city and had to turn around to watch it burn and face God’s judgement. Her heart wasn’t on God, it was in the city and in the sins.

Luke 9:62 – And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.

Staying strong in this day and age is hard. It seems like there is a new shooting every day. A new riot. We look at the presidential candidates and we are so saddened for America and how she has fallen. Sin has taken over. Thousands of people are without Christ, and thousands upon thousands are victims of false conversion. They claim to know God, but they do not know His Word, and therefore, do not know the one true God. It’s easy to get upset, it’s easy to get disheartened. If we are not fixed on God, we’re going to be miserable. We are going to be without hope. But when our heart is fixed, we remember that we are on the winning side. No matter what is happening in this world, our enemies are not going to prosper for long. We know that no matter what, God is on the throne! And so, we can continue praising! We can walk without backsliding! Oh, the things we can do when our heart is fixed on Jesus alone!

3.) We Can’t Have Peace If Our Heart Isn’t Fixed On Him.

We read this in Isaiah 26:3, “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.” When our hearts are fixed on God, we are able to trust in Him through anything. Not only do we have the strength to persevere, but we are able to fight with peace in our hearts. We don’t have to fear the enemy or what they can do, we don’t have to fear the storms because we know that He has a plan for us, no matter what is going on in the world or in our personal lives. He is able to bring us through storms and even use those storms to strengthen us like He used the storm to strengthen Jonah, and we are able to have a peace and know that God will bring us through everything and He will use everything to His glory, and to bring us closer to Him.

Those storms I went through…I had to learn major lessons through them all, the biggest of which was on fixing my heart. I got tired of going through those storms and feeling so drained, and so anxious. After time, after I rededicated myself to Him and earnestly started getting to know Him, I was amazed at how I could finally live in peace, no matter what kind of storm I was going through.I had this peace because I was no longer looking around at all of the terrible things happening and going to the worst case scenario…I had my eyes firmly planted on Jesus’ face and His word, and He reminded me time and time again that He was holding me through it all.

4.) We Can’t Find Our God Given Calling If Our Heart Isn’t Fixed On Him.

And finally…although I could write about this topic forever, my last point. If our hearts aren’t fixed on God, we aren’t going to be able to do all that He has in store for us. Our mind is going to be too busy focusing on us; what do we want to do? Where do we want to go? What do we want to study? Where do we want to live? When our heart is fixed on Christ, it is less about us and all about Him. It becomes…where does He want me to go? What does He want us to study? Where does He want us to live? He is able to show us His amazing plan for our lives when we are fixed on Him and waiting for Him to make our path clear. How can He lead and direct us if we are too busy chasing something else? As I mentioned before…we can’t serve Baal and serve God, and we can’t serve flesh and serve God. We have to make the choice. What are we fixed on? Do we want to be fixed on God so that we can have His promises? So He can fulfill them for us? He wants to!

Let’s read the rest of Psalm 108 before I end this post…

Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.

For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.

Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth;

That thy beloved may be delivered: save with thy right hand, and answer me.

God hath spoken in his holiness; I will rejoice, I will divide Shechem, and mete out the valley of Succoth.

Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver;

Moab is my washpot; over Edom will I cast out my shoe; over Philistia will I triumph.

10 Who will bring me into the strong city? who will lead me into Edom?

11 Wilt not thou, O God, who hast cast us off? and wilt not thou, O God, go forth with our hosts?

12 Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.

13 Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.

All of these things are ours if our heart remains fixed. We can praise Him. We can rejoice. We can be on the winning side. The Psalmist says that Gilead is ours, Mannaseh is ours. Through God we shall do valiantly, He will tread down our enemies all because of what verse 1 says…my heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed. The question is, can we relate to the Psalmist? What is our heart fixed on right now? What is our number one priority?

22 thoughts on “Having A Heart That Is Fixed.

  1. Kristi October 13, 2016 / 2:46 pm

    Fixing my eyes on Jesus has been my focus for this year. This has been the hardest year of my life and His faithfulness has shined through. It is amazing how many verses focus on fixing or focusing on Christ. This one is one of my favorites –
    “I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭16:8

    Like

    • kalinann October 14, 2016 / 12:19 am

      I can totally relate to that! Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  2. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) October 13, 2016 / 11:04 pm

    I love this. Now I am thinking on having my heart fixed on Him. What a great verse. I will go mark it in my Bible too.

    Like

    • kalinann October 14, 2016 / 12:18 am

      Thanks so much for commenting, Amy! 🙂 I love having things marked in my Bible. Great reminders when we read past those marked verses!

      Like

  3. Becky (So Very Blessed) October 14, 2016 / 1:44 am

    I absolutely love this! I can’t wait to get that verse onto a notecard. I have found so often that even when I think my eyes are fixed on Him, they stray so easily! This is a beautiful reminder.

    Like

    • kalinann October 14, 2016 / 1:47 am

      Thanks for commenting, Becky! I love those verses. Such simple yet inspiring words!

      Like

  4. Mihaela Echols October 14, 2016 / 5:24 am

    This is an awesome post! We cannot fully worship Christ if we aren’t focused on him!
    If we close God out he’ll wait and close us out too but he i will always be there waiting.

    Like

  5. Brittney Moses October 14, 2016 / 2:58 pm

    This is so good! I can’t believe I glazed over this verse. Thank you for sharing your revelations. I will have to meditate more on this. ❤️

    Like

    • kalinann October 15, 2016 / 12:46 am

      It has become such an important verse to me!

      Like

  6. GodlyDivaGal October 14, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    I was thinking of Isaiah 26:3 when I saw the title of your post 🙂

    Like

  7. Terri's Thoughts October 14, 2016 / 4:34 pm

    I love this, I want my eyes to be fixed on him at all times. He deserves our highest praise

    Like

    • kalinann October 15, 2016 / 12:47 am

      Amen! A desire that should be in every believer’s heart!

      Like

  8. Breakfast With Tiffani October 14, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    YESSSSS! Love this. The praise part is something I really struggle with lately. There is just always so much on my mind. I am really trying to focus more. Thank you for this!

    Like

    • kalinann October 15, 2016 / 12:47 am

      Thanks so much for commenting! I struggle with praise, as well. I tend to talk too much about the negativity and the enemies and storms, and too little about God and what He’s done for me!

      Like

  9. Caroline October 15, 2016 / 1:09 am

    Well this is convicting. What a reminder to fix our eyes on HIM!

    Like

  10. Shan Walker (@shanGURUwalker) October 15, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    This was such great stuff. I love how you started with that heart-stopping verse. Awesome. Your bible looks similar to mind – what kind is yours?

    Like

    • kalinann October 16, 2016 / 4:29 pm

      Thank you! It’s a KJV Scoffield. Not sure on the exact Bible!

      Like

  11. kenzylee October 17, 2016 / 6:17 pm

    This is awesome i can totally relate on how i now c things differently since i decided to be focused

    Like

    • kalinann October 18, 2016 / 1:16 am

      God has a great way of revealing things!

      Like

Leave a Reply

