What Is Sin?

There is something that is destroying the world today, and yet is being preached in churches. There is something that is causing false conversions, yet is glorified by ignorant Christians. There is something that is giving people the wrong idea of God Almighty, of true Christians, and leading people to Hell while they think they are grasping onto the trustworthy hands of Christian saints who will lead them to Heaven.

This thing is called tolerance.

I want to warn you all against this because I have seen how it has confused so many people. I’ve talked to many, many people who have a completely sinful and warped view of the Lord and salvation because of they have heard bad preaching and they believe that we should all tolerate sin. They think that judging is bad, and can never be righteous. They think that every Christian who dares to mention Hell, or repentance, or sin, is holier than thou and a hypocrite, and they think that grace is given to everyone, regardless of how they act after asking God for salvation. They think that repentance is merely an unimportant choice. They think that certain sins are not sins because society says so, even though the Bible says otherwise. Practically everyone in the world can quote Luke 6:37, judge not, and John 3:16, for God so loved the world, yet they have no idea about what scripture says regarding righteous anger, righteous judgement, and living holy as God is holy. Before I start digging deeper into this subject, I’d like to put a disclaimer here; God loves us. There is no such thing as a perfect person, and thanks to Jesus Christ and His sacrifice, we do not have to worry about damnation because we are not perfect. We are bought by the blood of Christ, our bonds have been paid, we are set free from the bondage of sin but we must be willing to repent in order to be set free. God does judge us, and He will continue to do so. Not because He is not loving, but because He is the perfect, holy and righteous King of Kings.

I want us to ask ourselves…what is sin? J.C Ryle put it in words,

It was sin that brought every single terrible thing into this world, yet we want to tolerate it. How ignorant are we? How, dare I say, stupid are we? We claim to love Jesus Christ, we claim to be thankful for what He has done for us, yet we go on sinning so boldly. How? I am as guilty as anyone who may be reading this. I feel His conviction, I feel Him stirring my heart as I type this, and I feel completely unworthy to be writing on this topic because of how I have failed Him in so many ways. I look at what sin is, and what sin has done, and I wonder why we are so happy to tolerate it. Sin created every illness; many of you may have lost a family member or friend to cancer. Tell me, do you hate cancer? If you found a cure for cancer, would you not want to share that cure with everyone suffering from cancer, or would you hide that cure and tolerate that illness? And say it really isn’t so bad? Sin created every infirmity, everything that tortures our human flesh. As the daughter of a drug addict, I look at those addictions that so many people face and I hate addiction. Do I tolerate addiction? I can not stand it, and if I had the cure to addiction, I would share it in a heartbeat. I would pass it around to every single addict I know, begging them to just take this cure, to give up the addiction and be set free.

We have the cure to sin, yet we want to tolerate it.

We know that there is only one way out. There is only one door, one narrow road, one exit. That is God, and repentance. Salvation. God’s grace. God’s love. The Gospel. Call it whatever you like, but the Bible is very clear on how we escape from the burden of sin. Remember the song “There Is Power In The Blood” and what it says. Come for a cleansing to Calvary’s tide, there is wonderful power in the blood. Would you do service for Jesus your King? There is power in the blood. But the question is…do we want to be washed by the blood? Are we preaching the blood of Christ or are we preaching pure tolerance? When people talk to you, when you are bringing the Gospel to lost souls,  are they hearing this truth? That they must be washed? Or are they leaving you with assurance that they can go on sinning and still be loved by God Almighty? That everyone is a sinner saved by grace, and grace is the only thing that matters? Let’s remember what Paul says about grace,

Romans 6:15, “What then? Shall we sin because we are not under the law, but under grace? God forbid!”

When we are set free from sin, we should be telling everyone about this miracle. We should be telling others about how great it is to be washed whiter than snow by Jesus’ blood, not giving people this terrible impression as if repentance is not important or necessary. What is sin? It is what put our Savior on the cross. It is the reason why He was a man of sorrows. Why He had to sit and pray, so mentally tortured that He sweat blood. It is the reason that His beard was torn from His face, hair by hair. It was the reason that God turned His face from His only Son and Jesus cried out, “My God, My God! Why hast Thou forsaken Me!?” Are we not torn apart by sin any longer? How do we tolerate this and view sin so lightly?

 

Folks, let me remind you of the very reason that we are able to taste grace; because of Jesus and His sacrifice for us. He took on sin so that we would be able to be cleansed. His intention was never for us to live in sin after He died for us. He loves us despite our failing before salvation, but God expects us to repent and live for Him after. There is nothing wrong with righteous anger and, yes, even hatred, towards sin. Sin was going to take you to Hell. Why do we tolerate it while it is currently leading thousands of others to Hell right now? I will never preach tolerance because I know what sin is capable of. I know what it was doing to me, and I will not stop until I feel as if I have done everything possible to get this message across to everyone I can; Jesus wants to cleanse you and make you into a new creature, not save you so you can go on sinning. Be made new.

30 thoughts on “What Is Sin?

  1. Amy Hagerup (@amyhagerup) August 24, 2016 / 2:08 am

    Guilty as charged. I have been convicted in a big way recently of some attitude sins in my life – among other things. I want to be sure that I am confessing and turning from sin as soon as I am aware of it. And I am so glad that Jesus forgives me. Thanks, sister. Amy

    Like

    • kalinann August 24, 2016 / 5:15 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment, Amy! Absolutely. And that’s a wonderful frame of mind to be in! So thankful that He forgives me!

      Like

  2. Mischelle Sandowich August 24, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    I know first hand the devastating teaching. I was given a false gospel in my childhood, believing for years that I was “saved” while I was steeped in sin. Praise God He saved me out of all the confusion and taught me the true gospel, which not only saves us from our sin, but sanctifies us out of our sin. All praise to God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kalinann August 24, 2016 / 5:16 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing part of your testimony with me! So many people have been through that very thing and it is so important for others to see the danger of that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Caroline August 25, 2016 / 2:46 am

    I love that image! What a powerful quote. Such a good and powerful reminder

    Like

  4. GodlyDivaGal August 25, 2016 / 9:33 am

    We need to be staying close to God every day – in prayer and in His Word

    Like

    • kalinann August 25, 2016 / 2:47 pm

      Yes! Always striving towards Him.

      Like

  5. Seth Muse August 25, 2016 / 12:20 pm

    I’m with you. Tolerance is a good thing when it is Godly, but it has been made into a pass card for sin. Great post!

    Like

    • kalinann August 25, 2016 / 2:48 pm

      Amen! Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

    • kalinann August 25, 2016 / 6:34 pm

      I discovered him recently. He has so many amazing quotes, I’d love to share them all, haha!

      Like

  6. Latasha August 25, 2016 / 8:08 pm

    Great post! I just did a video about this same exact topic! You are so right, the world is affecting the church, but the church is no longer affecting the world.

    Like

    • kalinann August 26, 2016 / 1:12 am

      Thanks so much, Latasha! How (sadly) true is that.

      Like

  7. Lo August 25, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    “We have the cure to sin, yet we want to tolerate it.” That line really hit me. You’re absolutely right though. People have some how jumped to the conclusion that “if you love me, you will let me do what I want.” And that is so far off from the truth. As Christians we have to speak out against and step away from sin. We have to be an example of life. And we can do both those things in loving ways, be we are not acting in love if we neglect either one of them.

    Like

    • kalinann August 26, 2016 / 1:13 am

      Absolutely. We’ve gotten too concerned with making friends in this world and making everyone else happy because love somehow equals tolerance in our minds, when we should be acting out Christ’s love and be willing to share bold truth with others.

      Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  8. Brittney Moses August 25, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    This reminds me of a quote basically saying we won’t truly understand the need for Christ until we understand the depth of our depravity or sin. It’s good to have a balanced view of this. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • kalinann August 26, 2016 / 1:13 am

      Thank you for your comment! Love that quote!

      Like

  9. Mihaela Echols August 26, 2016 / 2:16 am

    I feel like many Christians or those who claim to be have forgotten what sin is now days. They want both the world and God and think that they can blend them together.

    Like

  10. À LA MODEST August 26, 2016 / 3:55 am

    Interesting that you brought this up, because I was having a discussion with another Christian who told me not to judge the Kardashians as not being Christians. I don’t think it’s false judgement to say that a group of people who openly and proudly celebrate sin do not exemplify Christianity. I think too many people don’t realize that the Kardashians are not just “rich and pretty.” There is evidence that they involve themselves in Satanic practices. I will never tolerate that.

    Like

    • kalinann August 26, 2016 / 1:11 pm

      I think a lot of people are confused on that topic, if you can righteously judge the unsaved and expect them to live Christlike. Obviously, if they’re unsaved, they are going to sin and not necessarily care because they aren’t following God’s standards, but either way, they are still going to face judgement and it’s our duty, maybe even more since they are unsaved and need to be saved, to warn them against what they are doing and to warn people who are following in sinful footsteps! The Kardashians are definitely not footsteps people need to be following.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Crystal (Josey) Clark August 26, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    Being made new in Christ. What a lovely thing! Shying away from dealing with sin is doing a dis-service to the Gospel, and keeping many in chains. Thank you for your timely words.

    Like

  12. Becoming Mom August 27, 2016 / 2:20 am

    I love those quotes by J.C. Ryle! I am going to have to look him up! It breaks my heart to see so many churches making light of and even accepting sin in the name of tolerance. I agree that it stems from not truly understanding how heinous and hideous sin is, how damaging and destructive it always is.

    Like

    • kalinann August 27, 2016 / 5:08 pm

      I discovered him very recently, he said a lot of very powerful things, very timely for the state that this world is in.

      Like

  13. Antonique Wickham August 27, 2016 / 12:36 pm

    “If you found a cure for cancer, would you not want to share that cure with everyone suffering from cancer” this is a very challenging statement! When I see sin in myself, how do I deal with it? The Bible says the wages of sin is death yet we treat sin so flippantly. Thank God for His grace – not to continue to sin as Paul says – but to challenge the sin in us. Thank you for this post

    Like

    • kalinann August 27, 2016 / 5:08 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment!

      Like

  14. Kristi September 15, 2016 / 4:53 am

    Tolerance and love are not the same thing. God loves us with such an immense passion that He sent His son to die on the cross to take away our sins so we could be reconciled to Him. He loves us but his holiness could not tolerate our sin. It’s impossible. Therefore, like you said we have to look at it in the same light. We have to realize tolerating sin is separating those who are clinging to sin from God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

