Living For God In Every Moment.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. Isaiah 53:5

I want us all to take a look in our Bible’s and read about the life of Jesus. I want us to see the sinless life He lived, I want us all to read about how He followed God, about how He traveled with His 12 disciples, about how He was mocked, persecuted and made into an outcast everywhere He went. I want us to remember that from the very day that He was born, He was an outcast in society. He was born and placed in a manger because there was no room for Him, and now, He is pushed away by this world because there is no room for Him in their hearts. He went through temptation, He fought against Satan, He was beaten and then crucified. He was tortured for us. He died for us. He left His heavenly kingdom for us. Isaiah 53:5 tells us just what He did for us..He was wounded. He was bruised. And by His wounds, we are healed. Through His suffering we are made whole. By His wounds we are healed. We have been saved by Him. Though we may suffer and experience persecution and we may become an outcast, He has saved us from so much more. He has saved us from Hell, He has saved us from being alone in this world. We can face our trials knowing that He is with us and He will never forsake us. If we would look and see what He went through for us, and realize that our lives would be so much harder without Him, perhaps we would begin to take our faith seriously and begin living a life that is pleasing to Him. Perhaps, we would stop holding onto our sin with a death grip and we would begin holding onto His hand and tell Him, “Wherever You go, I want to go.” Whatever happened to Christians like Jim Elliot who told the Lord, “I seek not a long life, but a full one like You.” Who gave everything to God, placed everything they loved on the alter and told God to take full control over their lives. Who were willing to be a martyr for Christ? Whatever happened to Christians like Dietrich Bonhoeffer who said to the Lord, “When Christ calls a man, he bids him come and die.”  Whatever happened to Christians like Amy Carmichael, who gave up everything that most women hold dear in this world (Love, marriage, motherhood..) in order to go be a missionary? What happened? Do we really love the Lord? Are we willing to see what He did for us and let every moment be a thousand thanks?

I weep for this generation of Christians. I truly do. We live in such a sin fallen world, and sadly, the people in our churches aren’t much better than those outside of it. We are so focused on ourselves. We want to follow our hearts, not Jesus. We want to please our flesh, not Jesus. We want to do what makes happy, not make Jesus happy. We are so focused on such unimportant things that we have forgotten about God and forgotten about following Him and pleasing Him and being a Godly example to others. I want us to examine ourselves and find out how we are truly living, and if we are living every moment the way we should be. When we are living, who are we living for? We can’t live for ourselves and be thankful for God. We can’t put ourselves first and thank Him at the same time. Picture this; someone gives me a beautiful, expensive gift and I throw it on the ground, stomp it with my feet, ruin it, and then throw it in the garbage as I bite my lip and toss out a rude “thank you.” Would my thanks be appreciated? Would they really think I appreciated that gift? God has given us a beautiful gift, one that He bought with His life, and we are stomping it with our feet and throwing it in our trash can, and we pray once a week and never read our Bible’s but we somehow think we’re on the right track. No. If you are truly thankful for what God did for you then start living like it. Get out of your sin, get away from people who are telling you that how you live isn’t important because of grace, and get away from yourself. Forget about pleasing yourself and remember that we are NOT commanded to follow our hearts, we are commanded to follow our Creator.

Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth, while the evil days come not, nor the years draw nigh, when thou shalt say, I have no pleasure in them. Ecclesiastes 12:1

Remember Him now, take time out in your daily life and remember what He did for you and remember how we are supposed to be living. Live your life in a constant mode of thankfulness. Follow Him and live what you preach. If you love Him, be thankful. Without Him, we would be nothing and could do nothing.

27 thoughts on “Living For God In Every Moment.

  1. Mary June 29, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    You are so right. Sometimes I forget the most important thing of all- Christ and His word. Last night I was sitting in my living room and I was thinking that I needed to pray that night because a lot of people needed prayer- but that I also needed to come up with more blog content, and that I also needed to do this and that. I reminded myself that by sitting down first and reading God’s word would lay the foundation for all things coming in the future. Great reminder to keep doing that and stop living for ourselves and to live for Christ.

    Like

    • kalinann June 30, 2016 / 1:44 am

      Thank you for your comment, Mary! 🙂 That’s so true. I’ve been guilty of that same thing, not reading His word or spending time in prayer because I have a hundred other things that I “need” to do, when I need to be putting focus on the Lord. I’ve been working on that (and failing almost every day!) and it seems like every day I manage to push myself back and give God my time, my day (the whole week, really) goes so well.

      Like

  2. Csilla Muscan June 29, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    What a great reminder. It’s so easy to get caught up in our own little worlds every day and to stop focusing on what God wants for our lives.

    Like

  3. Mel Thompson June 29, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    Life is so fast paced now that it’s hard to remember to be thankful for the small things. It seems the little things don’t even catch our attention anymore. It would due us all good to slow down and remember to find the beauty and blessings in those little moments.

    Like

    • kalinann June 30, 2016 / 11:06 pm

      Thank you for your comment, Mel!

      It definitely is. It’s hard to slow down and take a look around us, talk to God and notice everything He’s done for us, but it’s such a necessity if we want to have a close relationship with Him!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. debolton June 30, 2016 / 2:37 am

    You make a lot of very good points. I find that there are a lot of convenient Christians. If it is convenient to them they worship and honor. How they want, when the want but not making a true sacrifice that will never equate to Jesus but at least to show some honor. Gratitude is a powerful thing that can change your perspective and heart.

    Like

    • kalinann June 30, 2016 / 11:25 pm

      Thank you for your comment! 🙂

      Very true! Many people that claim to be Christians have no gratitude. Like Pliable in the book Pilgrim’s Progress, they want the riches in Heaven and God’s glory in their lives but they don’t want to go through anything to get there!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda June 30, 2016 / 2:56 pm

    Wonderful reminders. If everyone would show true Christian Values, the world would be a much better place.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mihaela Echols June 30, 2016 / 5:31 pm

    I agree some people say they are christians but aren’t truly in love with him or abiding in him. They don’t show the rest of the world how amazing God is and what he can do in our lives.

    Like

    • kalinann June 30, 2016 / 11:26 pm

      Yes! I think it’s so sad that we’re missing so many opportunities to live a grateful life and be a witness to others!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. pjkuhn June 30, 2016 / 10:16 pm

    Your questions “Where are they?” is a valid one. Thankfully I have seen a few young people step up to the plate and “leave all” to follow God. Unfortunately, the number is small and the need to present Chrsit to the world is great. I pray I’ll always answer “I’ll go” when asked.

    Like

    • kalinann June 30, 2016 / 11:26 pm

      And it’s such an encouragement to see those people!

      Like

  8. 2015horse July 1, 2016 / 12:45 am

    Beautiful. Such a great reminder. Thank you.

    Like

  9. Sarah July 1, 2016 / 3:26 am

    Kalin, your heart is beautiful because it has truly been regenerated by the Holy Ghost. I so love this blog post! Amen to it all! All you share is directly from God’s word.

    Like

    • kalinann July 1, 2016 / 11:49 am

      Thank you so much, Sarah! That means so much to me!

      Like

  10. Natalie July 1, 2016 / 1:24 pm

    So true! It isn’t that I’m not thankful, it’s just that I forget to be thankful. But thankfulness is such a central, essential aspect to a life bought by Christ! It has been my goal to practice it more, to make it more of a central theme in my life…no matter distractions are going on.

    Like

    • kalinann July 1, 2016 / 5:11 pm

      Yes! I think most Christians are extremely thankful for what God has done for them, they simply don’t grasp how much God has done for them, and how often He works in their lives. I’m very guilty of that as well.

      Like

    • kalinann July 1, 2016 / 5:11 pm

      Thank you for commenting!! I’ve recently been introduced to him and I’ve enjoyed some of his quotes.

      Like

  11. Lo July 3, 2016 / 5:18 am

    I think we all get caught in living for ourselves every now and then. Thank goodness for grace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

