Christians, Get Your Priorities Straight.

This week in Cincinnati, a gorilla was shot and killed after a child climbed inside of it’s enclosure. In other news, according to many studies, around 3,000 abortions take place every day.

And here I am, writing about Christians and priorities, because I’ve seen more Christians outraged over an animal than I’ve ever seen over a human being. Very rarely do you see a Christian get this upset over abortions- sure, many of them will say they are pro-life, but where are the dramatic, angered Facebook posts? Where are the rallies? Where are the protests? Yes, we have lots of violent protests at abortion clinics (which are ridiculous, and will get us nowhere.) put together by people who I doubt are really Christian, and maybe, once a year, maybe twice, on days like Mothers Day or the day of the Pro-Life march, you’ll see people get really enthusiastic about the pro-life movement, but really…the outrage I’ve seen over a gorilla in the past two days is nothing, I repeat, nothing like the outrage I’ve seen over abortion. If you are one of the few Christians who are standing against abortion boldly, I commend you. Please know I am aware that there are some, albeit few, Christians who take life seriously, and this post is not about you.

It’s about the Christians who are so mad at a zoo for shooting a gorilla when a child was put in danger. Blame the parents, absolutely. They should have been watching the child closer – the four year old had to climb over a lot to get into that enclosure, and the parents were not doing their duty as a parent in those several minutes it took for the child to find itself in danger. Get angry at the parents, I’m okay with that. But that child, an innocent child who was not aware of the danger, not purposely climbing in so the gorilla would be spooked and therefore killed, went into that enclosure, and regardless of how that animal acted, whether it was trying to protect him, whether it would have hurt him or not, the child was in danger. A gorilla is not a human being. A gorilla is a powerful animal, one who could kill an adult with hardly more than a snap of a finger, even if on accident.

One wrong move from Harambe the Gorilla, and that child would lose its life.

Harambe
Photo Credit from Cincinnati Zoo.

Are we really going to allow a child to be put in danger in order to save an animal? Are we so confused that we value an animal’s life over a human? They could have tranquilized Harambe. I wish they could have safely. But that tranq would have taken several minutes to kick in, and that would put the child in even more danger.

I love all animals, but I know this – God loves humans more. God made us in His image, He did not do this with animals. Animals are a treasure, a gift that we should take care of, but do not think for one second that God does values the animal and a human the same.

Meanwhile, when thousands of babies are murdered daily, there is no global outrage. There’s no one out there, posting on abortion clinics Facebook page and urging them to value the human life more. But there are thousands of people posting on a zoo’s page, in tears, in agony, over a gorilla. Begging a zoo to start valuing an animal more.

We have begun worshiping animals like gods, and hating fellow humans. And if any of you know me well at all, you’ll know that I frequently call a horse my best friend. And he is. But if I had to choose between a child or my horse, I would choose a child. If a child had even a 1% chance of dying in that enclosure, with no hope of escaping, or having someone go in there to rescue him, I would choose that child over the animal.

The gorilla, they claim, was gently dragging the child. I don’t think you all understand the power of this animal. Go do me a favor and watch a wildlife show about gorillas attacking people. They can turn at any moment. They could kill us on accident. Gorillas do not understand the limit of what a human child can take. I wouldn’t expect that animal to take care of a child, especially not if it was scared by someone trying to get the kid out.It seems as though we trust an animal more with our children than we do with other people.

Vigils. Protests. Outrage everywhere. People saying that a child, an innocent child, should just be left there to see how it would work out. Are you kidding me? Watch a child be ripped limb from limb because we wanted to give it a shot? Get that child out of there! Do whatever it takes! But a quick shot to a gorilla, a mostly painful death, is the biggest injustice we’ve ever seen.

Babies being ripped limb from limb inside of a womb, where they should be safe.

No outrage. No protests. No tears. We as Christians know that abortions are happening. We see it on the news, we pass abortion clinics on the road, we hear about it often. But where are our tears?  Perhaps, we are too busy crying over Harambe to be bothered by thousands of lives being taken from humans like us.

There are no candlelight vigils for the nameless children that we care nothing for, but tonight, there will be thousands of tears wept for a gorilla.

There is a woman running for office who supports the right for women to murder a child up to 36 weeks old. No outrage. No tears. No protests. But God forbid a gorilla dies to save a child.

America, you are a twisted, perverse nation full of weak Christians. God, I pray for this country.

21 thoughts on “Christians, Get Your Priorities Straight.

  1. SFS May 31, 2016 / 1:20 am

    Thank you so much for such a timely message that cuts straight to the heart of the matter. We are seeing the results of men who exchange the truth about God for a lie and worship and serve the creature rather than the Creator. (Romans 1)

    Like

    • kalinann June 1, 2016 / 2:00 am

      Thank you for your comment!
      We most certainly are. We’ve created an idol out of animals, and other lives, and we’ve forgotten about the importance of human lives, especially children!

      Like

  2. Mihaela Echols May 31, 2016 / 2:51 am

    Great post! I agree I don’t believe in animals getting hurt as well but a humans life has far more value. I feel like a lot who claim to be Christians now days are actually lukewarm. I really like the picture you posted on the bottom as well, very powerful.

    Like

  3. Jennifer May 31, 2016 / 3:20 am

    I don’t even know how to approach people who are so violently outraged over animals, but completely ignore people and children. Anyone who points out the fallacy of their position is castigated. It’s just ridiculous. Christians should be acting differently.

    Like

    • kalinann June 1, 2016 / 1:57 am

      It’s so sad to me – we’ve just lost our passion for life, and we’ve made idols out of so many things, yet human lives are nothing to us.

      Like

      • Jennifer June 1, 2016 / 2:06 am

        And logic and reason are lost. All I can do is pray.

        Like

  4. pjkuhn May 31, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    Amen! All those babies, day after day, without an outcry. I left my daughter at home and went to church (the patronage was by our church) I thought my husband had her and he thought I did. She was home in her sisters bed . It was only ten minutes but at three she could have wandered anywhere. I’m praying the mother will be able to rest in Jesus until this calms down.

    Like

    • kalinann June 1, 2016 / 1:56 am

      I can’t imagine how she feels. Such a sad situation, all way around, for everyone involved.

      Like

  5. 2015horse June 1, 2016 / 1:14 am

    Great post! It’s time America woke up.

    Like

  6. Caroline June 1, 2016 / 2:45 pm

    Wow I never thought about it this way! So interesting. Definitely makes me think about it different now

    Like

  7. Alonda June 5, 2016 / 1:00 am

    I agree that as Christians our priority in this instance should be the safety of that little boy over the safety of an animal. But I also feel as Christians that this is a perfect example of how little we carry the grace we are told to extend. My heart hurts for the mom who is receiving all this heavy judgement. I am a mom of 3 little ones and trust me, it doesn’t matter what is in their way, if my kid wanted adventure bad enough he would have jumped all that stuff in a split second found himself in the same situation as that young boy. Especially when I’ve got my eyes on the younger ones. It happens. Even Mary and Joseph lost Jesus. I don’t think any of us have the right to judge that mom. She has learned to keep closer eye on her kids (who are all safe and sound right now which is the best outcome concerning their lives we could ask for) and the last thing she needs is to be condemned by a bunch of Christians.

    Where’s the grace?

    Like

    • kalinann June 7, 2016 / 6:54 pm

      Very true, and a very good point on Mary and Joseph, and how they lost track of Jesus! I heard that she will not be facing any charges, and I’ve seen so many Christians attack her and the people who made that decision. If they found nothing wrong in her home, really…we have no right to judge. I find it sad that so many are attacking her but completely ignore the fact that we have SO many parents abusing and truly neglecting their children on purpose. If we got as mad at the true abusers as we did at this lady, maybe less children would be abused!

      Like

  8. Allison Rebecca June 6, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    Yes a thousand times, yes! It’s so easy to get distracted by the things that are thrown at us in the media that we forget what’s really important!

    Like

Leave a Reply

