All of Him or None of Him.

I got a fair bit of criticism (on Facebook and Instagram, mostly.) over my last post, and it made me think about some things – I spent that night in prayer after the first few negative comments, praying for God to reveal Himself to me again and let me know if what I’m doing and what I’m writing is what He is calling me to do. It wasn’t long after that, in my own Bible study, I found a few verses one after another. God most definitely speaks through His word, and these verses really spoke to me.

Ephesians 6:13 

 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.

Isaiah 58:1 

“Cry aloud; do not hold back; lift up your voice like a trumpet; declare to my people their transgression, to the house of Jacob their sins.

Psalm 1:1 

 Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers;

I want to start off by saying this – I’m aware that these verses aren’t specifically talking about me. I am in no way as amazing as the disciples were, I am not the person written about in Psalm 1, I am not the person in Isaiah, I am not who God was originally speaking to in His word, but He is clear on this fact…He uses the Bible to speak to all of His followers, whether they lived in Jesus’ day, in the 1940’s, or in 2016. As long as the world goes on, He will speak to His followers using the Bible and prayer. And each time I have received these negative comments (whether they are sent in kindness or just to be hateful.) I want you all to know, I’ve prayed over them. I have spent a lot of time in prayer and in my Bible. Before I post anything, I pray about it and I try to make sure it aligns with scripture best I can as a fallible human being. I’m not right all the time, nor am I perfect. I sin, just like everyone else. And when someone refers to me as a pharisee, I’m going to take those comments and I’m going to think on them and pray about them, because God forbid I ever turn into someone like that. Psalm 1:1 says, “Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicket, nor stands in the way of sinners.” A bigger fear, however, is to stand in the way of sinners and stand between them and God, and make it harder for them to come to God. This fear sits right up with my other biggest fears, and those all go along with disappointing God, and standing in His way. And I would rather receive negative comments than stand in the way of someone finding and accepting the Lord.

But, negative comments should (some of the time.) be taken seriously. I have to make sure, perhaps more than some other people, that I am living in a way that God can be somewhat proud of because I have put my words and life on a public pedestal and allowed strangers from all over the world, lost souls and saved souls alike, for them to read and, hopefully, enjoy and be convicted by. God convicted me greatly not long ago to write in the way that I have been writing. I originally (some of you older readers will remember) started off with blog posts with religion sprinkled ever so lightly in. I would mention Jesus occasionally, and then He convicted me to talk about Him more. Still, I failed. I failed to be bold. And God has always called me very clearly, ever since I was saved, He has commanded me and convicted me to preach the Gospel without apology, without fear, without cherry picking. And although some of you may claim that I seem like a hypocrite, or think I’m judgemental or that I’m scaring people too much because I mention Hell…I know this – God has called me to write this way, and I will not cease unless He tells me to stop.

I want you all to know this, whether you are saved or unsaved…God does not make negotiations. And He will not put up with sin. God does not compromise. He hates your sin. Now, that doesn’t mean He hates mine any less. I have sinned,  I have fallen short of His glory. Every single day, I fail Him in ways I don’t even want to think about. It sickens me to think about how often I fail Him. How often I ignore His calling for me, How often I ignore His convictions, how often I lie, I say hurtful things, I fail to forgive and love others. I fail Him, and He hates that sin in my life just as much as He hates your sins. But, and I do not say this is a self-righteous way, because it is only through His strength and grace that I am able to do this, I repent. I turn from my sins and do not dwell in them. There are times when I backslide harder and for longer periods of time, but here is the most important thing – I strive to come back to Him. If God judged me by my works here on earth or by my righteousness, I would be going to Hell just as quickly as the murderer, the homosexual, the liar, the thief, the pedophile, any sinner, really. But He doesn’t, and I thank Him for that. I praise Him because His grace abounds to even the worst of sinners if they are willing to accept Him as their Savior.

Under my blog’s title on the header, there is a quote I hope you’ve noticed. It is on the back of my shirt for my blog, it is the quote I use any time I mention the blog to someone and am explaining it’s purpose. My life verse is in 2 Timothy, and (one of) my life quote is by John Bunyan. The quote says, “My name is now Christian, but my name used to be Graceless.”  I am constantly reminded of His grace and love towards me. “While I was yet a sinner, Christ died for me.” And this is one of the reasons why I feel the necessity to share the Gospel, even the hardest, roughest, most convicting parts of it. Because you can not have salvation without repentance, and you will not repent if you have no knowledge of Hell. My intention is not to scare anyone into a false conversion, and as far as I’m aware, that has never happened. I have had people ask me more about salvation after telling them about Hell, and I have tried my best to either explain it well enough or send them to someone who can do so better than myself. I have had people ask me more about sin so that they can learn about repentance, and I have had people get angry with me. But I refuse to tell someone to say the sinners prayer and voila, they have salvation. So, I don’t believer I’ve ever scared anyone into becoming a false convert.

You see, God commands us to either pick Him, or pick Baal. He does not allow us to be fence straddlers, He commands us to choose a side. Does this make Him graceless? No. Does this make Him impatient? No. It makes Him righteous, it makes Him holy. God can have a relationship with someone who is living in sin. This is why when we are saved, we become a new creature. And if you have not turned into a new creature, you have not been born again, and He does not live in you. Think of the pharisee in Luke (the one who was praying next to the Publican. We’ll talk about him in a minute.) He claimed to be saved, like many people, he even lived well, kept the commandments, and was as righteous as a human can be, as far as good works and living go. But he had no inward change, he was not turned into a new creature. He relied on HIS works, not God’s. He was a prideful person, and chose his own side, not God’s. Then, we think of the Publican. This man was sinful, he was vile, he was a bad man. But he came to God reverently, and knew that he was a sinner in need of a Savior. He relied on God 100%, and the Bible says he walked away justified. Do you think he left and, after that humble, heartbreaking prayer, begging for salvation and forgiveness, continued living sinfully? No! If that was the case, he wouldn’t have been justified/saved! When God saves you, you become a new person, you leave your sinful behavior! And if me saying this offends someone, maybe it’s time we are offended. The reason this country (and world.) has gone so down hill is because Christians (yes, US.) aren’t standing up for God and His holiness! I am sick and tired of hearing people make excuses and lead people into thinking they can commit sin and tolerate it after being saved! God ABHORS your sin, and that sin is leading to the damnation of this world.

2 Corinthians 5:17

17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

 

The Bible says that Hell is real, and the wages of sin is death. If you continue sinning blatantly with no regard for God and His word, you have not been born again. The end result of your sin will always, always, always be Hell unless you truly allow God to transform you. And He can. He is willing, because He is full of grace. No matter what sin you commit, as long as you’re willing to let go for Him, even if you backslide and have to return to Him time and time again, as long as you are trying to live for Jesus, and trusting in Him and relying on His strength..He will always be willing to give you that grace, that second chance. His love is everlasting.

I want to end this post with my life verses, which I always look back on during hard times. God has always brought this scripture to me any time I am struggling. 2nd Timothy 4:2-5 says,

Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long suffering and doctrine.

For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;

And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

5 But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.

 

31 thoughts on “All of Him or None of Him.

  1. Jennifer DeFrates/Heaven Not Harvard May 16, 2016 / 3:32 am

    I’ve been really struggling with HOW and WHEN is it my job to convict others. I mentor a few younger wives in Christ and am thankful for their patience as I fumble my way into learning how to lead with the love of Christ and appropriate patience. I’m not sure I have it perfectly right, but I try to 1) pray first and let God provide the timing/opportunity to have a conversation with this person appropriately 2) to meet someone where they are spiritually, talk about who I used to be that is similar and how God worked in me, 3) do more listening than talking, 4) Pray for God to work in their heart. If they want to listen and hear, it is pretty clear, but sometimes God works on them awhile before they’ll listen. Sometimes, God has to work on me awhile too. I can see the fruit when I put God’s way before mine and ask His guidance every step, but it is a process of learning to discern all the dynamics and wait on Him. I hope you’re finding that true too! We’re all fumbling toward grace as long as we keep walking toward Christ.

    Like

    • kalinann May 16, 2016 / 3:37 am

      Thanks for your comment! It’s SO important to be in constant prayer so we can see those “appointments” that God sets up for us, so we know that the time and place is correct for us to have conversations and share the Gospel or just talk about God with people. He sets up the perfect time, the perfect place, with the perfect people, as long as we’re willing to wait on Him and are listening for that call!

      Like

  2. Lisa Joy Thompson May 16, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    I love the John Bunyan quote you used! Such a great reminder! I think there is such a fine line between judgement and speaking the truth in love…and when people are mired by sin, both seem like judgement because of people’s guilt!

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 1:39 am

      Thanks for your comment! There definitely is a very fine line, it’s so important to be careful with how you speak to unbelievers and believers alike!

      Like

  3. Caroline May 16, 2016 / 6:05 pm

    I receive so many negative and rude comments, it’s crazy. For me personally, I just reply something short and sweet and move on. I can’t harp on them at all!

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 1:39 am

      I’ve always thought it’s crazy to see how negative people can be!

      Like

  4. Mihaela Echols May 16, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    I have had this issue as well. People either read into my what i was writing and made assumptions then I lost a lot of my readers. I even got private messages saying that I’ve gone too far. But if we are writing on truth then thats what matters in the end. Write on my dear friend.

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 1:40 am

      Thank you for your kind words and support! I’ve had many, many private messages, emails, you name it. I think I’m at a point where I’ve realized, sometimes those negative comments mean you’re doing something right! God does say we will be persecuted.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. marie wikle May 17, 2016 / 1:13 am

    It’s my experience that people can be so mean. Especially us Christians. We tend to speak without thinking. I’m glad you’ll keep speaking the truth. It’s needed.

    Like

  6. debolton May 17, 2016 / 1:26 am

    I believe that if you’re living righteous and standing up for your beliefs and God there will be naysayers and that means you’re speaking truth. Follow God’s lead we are not here to appease man we are here to glorify God.

    Like

  7. Achama (AbiYah) May 17, 2016 / 8:27 am

    It can be difficult, but we’re not here to please men and we were not created to please man either. We each have a God ordained ministry and if we are humble, full of love and trying our best to walk in that ministry that is good enough for Him. None of us are going to be perfect and He is able to transform us and our views on the journey. If I find what somebody says annoying or if it doesn’t sit right in my spirit then through discernment I’ll ignore it, my go to message which I am fully convicted on is anything not borne from and done out of faith is sin. If someone is scared into salvation or behaving a particular way they can never be saved or transformed. Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 3:44 pm

      Thank you for your comment!
      Amen, I completely agree! Love what you said, “Anything not borne from and done out of faith is sin.” How true!

      Like

  8. Marissa May 17, 2016 / 11:26 am

    “As long as the world goes on, He will speak to His followers using the Bible and prayer.”

    I think this is the key – the side effect of living this life is that we will have to deal with this world, and it is broken, and full of sin, and as a result people get hurt in so many ways. Prayer is always the answer, first, and then responding to what He has taught you in prayer comes next.

    It is always good to write what the Lord has called you to write, and to share it with everyone.

    I have enjoyed following you along the way 😉

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 3:45 pm

      Thank you for your comment!
      So true, prayer should be our go-to, the first thing we turn to (that and Bible study to allow Him to talk to us in another way!) when we are wondering what to do. He is always ready to burden our hearts with conviction and lead the way to our calling.

      Like

  9. Faith May 17, 2016 / 12:32 pm

    I appreciate that you are willing to speak the truth with both boldness and humility. That is a rare combination. It is hard to process those negative comments when you feel you have been prayerful and biblical in your post. Our culture has become too soft. Yes, we need to be sensitive with our delivery, but we still need to deliver the truth.

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 3:46 pm

      Thank you so much, Faith! We most certainly live in a very easy to offend generation.

      Like

  10. pjkuhn May 17, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    I love your title…it’s my goal and prayer to have all of Jesus or none of Him. To live so close to Him that He shines through my life. There will always be those who criticize but your heart so clearly wants truth, and truth alone. May your heart be encouraged!

    Like

    • kalinann May 17, 2016 / 3:43 pm

      Thank you for your comment! That’s the best goal to have! This world would be so mightily changed if Christians had that goal – to let their light shine before men, with no apology or shyness! We’re so often ashamed of God, and His truth, and I believe that is one thing majorly hindering revival!

      Like

  11. 2015horse May 17, 2016 / 10:31 pm

    I’m so thankful you write with boldness. Your blog has been such an inspiration to me. One of the biggest reasons I started blogging about Jesus is because of you. I felt the Holy Spirit pushing me to do it. Thank you so much for witnessing and encouraging me with your blog! You are a HUGE blessing. 😊 I will pray that God daily gives you strength to push on.

    Like

    • kalinann May 18, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      Thank you so much for your sweet comments! They mean so much to me. I am so happy you started your own blog! I don’t comment on it nearly enough but I read all of your posts and enjoy them so much! You’re a big blessing to me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • 2015horse May 19, 2016 / 12:24 am

        You’re welcome! I hope someday I can meet you in person. : )

        Like

  12. Brianna George May 20, 2016 / 5:06 am

    We really need to lean into God and allow the Holy Spirit to speak to us about when and where. Too often we use worldly wisdom for these kidsn of situations. May HIS spirit lead us to live in grace with one another.

    Like

  13. Handfuls of Seed May 21, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    I did not read any critical comments, I looked for them. I have some suggestions, not criticisms. I used to be very frustrated with people and sin. As long as you understand that your righteousness and good works are produced by the Holy Spirit. They are not produced by you. Philippians 1.6 We cannot compare ourselves with each other, or judge others. Romans 14.4-5 It is never our responsibility to convict others. We plant seeds, lovingly. Keep writing… John 13.34-35, Hebrews 10.24
    Check out my blog post concerning evangelism. It is only a suggestion. I also write a series, Love People More than Truth. If you want to reach people, you will be willing to learn about people.
    https://handfulsofseed.wordpress.com/2016/04/02/christs-contrasting-style-of-evangelism/

    Like

    • kalinann May 21, 2016 / 6:03 pm

      They weren’t on this blog, they were on my personal accounts that I don’t share with many people. 🙂

      That’s a very good point – our “righteousness” is only through God.

      I’m at a get together now, so when I get home I will check out your post! Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  14. Mardene Carr May 28, 2016 / 1:18 pm

    God did not think twice when it was time to save us, in spite of how wretched we were/are. So if He asks us to sever him in spirit and truth that is a small price to pay

    Like

Leave a Reply

