What Are We Doing About The Youth?

I am a young person who has been involved in church for years. Ever since I can remember, I’ve been involved in church activities. There were times when we didn’t have a church to attend, but my family continued serving God best we could. I’ve gone to VBS, gone to church services, gospel singings, and so on. I’ve always been involved in some sort of Christian group. I’m turning seventeen this May, and I am still a “youth.” I am a young person, going slowly towards adulthood, and as a youth, I’ve wondered what the church (not mine, not yours, but every single church out there.) is doing for the youth. I’ve been involved in groups, Sunday school classes, even online Christian groups, made for younger Christian’s, and I have continued to be disappointed in what we are doing about the youth. We’re taking kids (and by kids, I’m talking anyone old enough to be saved and understand God, to the early 20’s, late teens) out to Winter Jam, to other Christian concerts, to Christian conferences that promote the wonderful life gospel, to the zoo, to baseball games, to theme parks, and so on. And, don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against churches taking out the youth to these fun places. It’s important to have fun together and have fellowship like this. Going to baseball games and other places isn’t a bad thing at all, but I’m seeing a whole lot of adventure parks, and not enough spreading of the Gospel. Most church’s now are not taking youth group’s out to open air preach, to witness, to spread Gospel tracts. I can’t even remember the last time someone in a church has taken a youth group out to a nursing home, hospitals, etc, to go tell people about Jesus, to sing hymns for them, to be Godly, set-apart kids, young adults.

I am a youth, and I am greatly disappointed in church’s. I am going to be blunt, not to offend anyone or hurt anyone, but these are my thoughts. Thoughts I’ve put aside, and I know that I need to be open about this.

Leaders in church’s around the world – you are letting down your youth. You are not guarding them. You are not training them up to be disciples. When you are putting fun above Jesus, you are letting them down. You are not teaching these young adults how to be set apart. In my time that I’ve spent in various groups, I have tried to talk people into going witnessing only to be told that it is simply not our job to witness like that. I have gone to theme parks, I have gone to different ball games, I have gone to restaurants, and the name of God has hardly been mentioned. The Bible is clear about how important the youth is, and it is time that every church of God gets serious about how they are training up the young people.

Psalm 119:9

How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word.

You know what I see in the Christian youth in America? In my own state? I see immodest dressing. I see crude language. I see people gradually turning against God and what He says. I have not met a single young person in my state that believes in the Bible in it’s entirety, that believes all sin is evil and to be turned from, that God will judge righteously, that homosexuality, abortion, sex before marriage, lying, cussing, adultery and so on, are truly sinful. And if they claim to believe it’s a sin, they don’t take it seriously. Perhaps, they don’t take God’s Holy Word seriously because the church does not take it seriously.

What youth groups need everywhere are Pastors who are willing to teach and rebuke. To have the elders watch over them and see what they really believe, what they really think. And I’m not seeing that happen.

It is time that the church begins taking the youth seriously, and teaching them how God commands. It is time that we start teaching the youth how to preach the Gospel, how to be servants of God. It is not enough that we take them to amusement parks and have fun outings. It is not enough that we go to Winter Jam, where they dance around and play secular “Christian” music to feed their emotions and pretend that it’s all about Jesus. It is not enough. It is time that we teach the youth how to take God seriously.

If the church would get the youth involved with important things and truly teach them, we would have a lot less confused teenagers straying from faith. We’d have less young people confused over sin.

The world is trying to take every single young person away, and it’s succeeding because the world is much bolder than the church. The world will yell at them, make them believe that sin is not sin as long as it feels good, they will take them in, and yet the church does nothing. It is time for the church to RISE UP and take the young people back. It is time for our Pastors to TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY and RISE UP and take a good hard look at the youth.

I can not stress this enough. We are losing the youth. And this may sound odd coming from a young person, but here is why this is so important –

I have been ridiculed by the youth. I have been made into an outcast. I have been cussed at during church outings. I have attempted to excite my fellow youth and get us all involved in evangelism, and I have only been ridiculed more. I have sat in silence for far too long, and it is time that I speak up. Maybe, if I speak up, something will happen. Maybe one of you who reads this blog will relate, and get the courage to talk to people about this, and try to get your fellow youth involved in Christian activities. That’s my prayer.

6 thoughts on “What Are We Doing About The Youth?

  1. 2015horse March 2, 2016 / 12:53 am

    Reblogged this on Simply Faith and commented:
    This is a awesome post and I highly encourage you to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah March 2, 2016 / 12:54 am

    This really blessed, encouraged, and convicted me. I am also a youth and I’m so thankful to see others who believe like I do. It’s also convicting because I know I need to witness more. Thank you for your encouragement! I couldn’t agree more with everything you said!!

    Like

    • kalinann March 2, 2016 / 12:55 am

      I am so happy you enjoyed the post! Thank you for your sweet comment!

      Like

  3. 2015horse March 3, 2016 / 2:10 am

    Do you have any ideas about how I can witness to my cousin who lives far away? I don’t talk to her very much and I really want to share with her. Just wondering if you had any ideas! Thanks.

    Like

    • kalinann March 3, 2016 / 2:12 am

      If you can, give her a few extra calls when you can, shoot her a couple texts if she has a phone, and when you talk to her, just mention the Lord as much as you can! Bring up the topic of Christianity and walk her through the 10 commandments and gently ease her into it! 🙂

      Like

      • 2015horse March 3, 2016 / 2:31 am

        Thanks! Her family are members of the Presbyterian Church (USA). I guess it’s better that they have something, but it’s really sad they go there. My mom tried talking to her sister about it and my aunt got REALLY upset. I think my cousin believes in Jesus and probable says she’s a christian but they go to a church that doesn’t preach the Bible, you know love everyone (as in don’t judge someone’s sin) and homosexuality is OKAY, abortion is no problem. Thanks again! I don’t have a phone of my own, or email, so I may send her a letter.

        Like

Leave a Reply

