My Spirit

When I started this blog a couple years back, I had no idea how important it would be to me. I had originally planned for it to be a diary of sorts, some place where I could share my meaningless thoughts, the occasional notes on sermons, lyrics, quotes, poems and etc that had meant something to me. But, apparently, God had other intentions.

Recently, the last year or so especially, I have felt a great calling. I’ve told several people that I’m close to that I feel called to the ministry, and they’re quite confused, because they think my intention is to become a pastor (which is obviously not the case, haha.), it seems as though when people think of God’s ministry, they believe that being behind a pulpit is the only way to be a big part of it. I’ve been quite honest – I don’t feel called to be a part of a women’s ministry, or to lead a children’s ministry. I love children, and I love women. I love the idea of leading something for young Christian women. Most people figured that I would take that route. But, alas. My spirit (God’s spirit, I should say.) has not led me in that direction. As Oswald Chambers said in his book, Grace Abounded, “I found my spirit leaned most toward awakening and converting work, and the Word that I carried led most that way also. Indeed, so have I strived to preach the Gospel where Christ was not named.”

Instagram media kalin.ann - Lots of great stuff learned in my studies tonight. Loved this part.
Book: Grace Abounded by Oswald Chambers.

We are all called to preach the Gospel. If you are saved, you are commanded by God to share the good news with other people. You are commanded to spread His word to lost souls, and to be bearers of good fruit. You are commanded to witness, whether the person you are witnessing to comes to know Christ that very day, or if you simply plant the seed, and move on. We should be in constant, fervent prayer for the lost sinners in this world. For all of them. Not just the ones in our family, the ones we know personally. Not just the ones in our own country, but for every single lost soul. We should be concerned for every person we meet, and we should witness every chance we get. Indeed, we are all led towards evangelism, but God calls different people to different places, to do different things. While I haven’t been called to leave my country or my comfortable home (yet, at least.) I have been called to go to the places where Christ has not been named. My greatest passion in life (yes, people who know me personally, far greater than my passion for horses!) is to preach the Gospel to lost sinners. No, not as a pastor of a church, but as a disciple of Jesus Christ.

“If there existed only one man or woman who did not love the Saviour, and if that person lived among the wilds of Siberia, and if it were necessary that all the millions of believers on the face of the earth should journey there, and every one of them plead with him to come to Jesus before he could be converted, it would be well worth all the zeal, labour, and expense. If we had to preach to thousands year after year, and never rescued but one soul, that one soul would be full reward for all our labour, for a soul is of countless price.” – Charles Spurgeon

You may wonder why I’m telling you this. Part of my reason is to share my heart, because I am excited. I’ve never felt His calling more than I have in the last few months. I’ve never felt His presence stronger. He has been using so many things to guide me and show me what He has for me to do, and the calling seems to get clearer and clearer every day. I can’t wait to see where I end up, regardless of where it will be. I can’t wait to meet each person He has in store for my future, I can’t wait to give out gospel tracts to people, I can’t wait to talk to people about His amazing grace and His glory and His power. The Gospel is precious to me, more than it has ever been, and with the help of the School of Evangelism, I now understand it so much more. My life feels more at peace. I’m no longer excited for my future because I’m looking forward to meeting my future spouse, if he does exist, or because I’m excited for a first date, a first house, a first job, new friends..I’m excited simply because of God. It’s like Jeremiah 20:9, “But if I say, “I will not remember Him or speak anymore in His name,” Then in my heart it becomes like a burning fire shut up in my bones; And I am weary of holding it in, and I cannot endure it!”

My other reason is this – I hope that you all will see how important it is that we share the Gospel. We are in a very sinful world. I believe that we are in the end of the end times. I believe that Jesus could come soon, it wouldn’t surprise me if He came back before the weekend! Of course, He could tarry, and I honestly pray that He continues to wait so that more souls can be saved before He comes in His wrath and judgement. But, He may not. He certainly has every reason to come now. The Bible says that the world will be “as in the days of Noah” and we are getting very, very close to that point. But He has a remnant of believers, and I want to urge you all to get out and share the Gospel before it’s too late. Think of what you are saved from! Think of the reasons why you are saved! And don’t let someone squirm by and end up in Hell because we are too lazy, too selfish, too busy, to tell them about their future in Hell if they do not repent and believe on Christ Jesus!

“God save us from living in comfort while sinners are sinking into hell!” – Charles Spurgeon

Every day, we come in contact with a lost soul. Whether it be online, or in person. Ask yourself this…are you doing anything to further His kingdom?

One thought on “My Spirit

  1. 2015horse February 26, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Thanks for posting this! It has really encouraged me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

