Whom You Serve.

I have lots of hobbies. Lots of passions. Lots of dreams. Lots of plans. Lots of hopes. I have family, friends, a wonderful church. I have several nephews and nieces, I have many siblings, many cousins, many aunts and uncles. I have had bad times, happy times. I have a past, I have a future. I have had moments nearly break me, and moments shape me into the person I am today. I am a person, made unique by lots of things that I love and adore, but I often wonder, what do people see first in me? When they think of me, what do they think of after? What or whom do they tie to me? When they think of me, do they think the girl with the blog? The girl who loves horses? The girl who takes too many photos? The girl with the messy, happy, hectic life? Or do they think of the girl set apart for Christ, the girl who follows Him, the girl who loves Him? Do they think of Him when they think of me?

I love many things. I love many people. But I love Jesus the most. I hold many things close to my heart, but Jesus is the one who owns my heart. My heart is His throne, and no one and nothing can ever take it. So, when people think of me, I pray that they think of Him more. I pray that I am not known as any of the things I listed above – the girl with horses, the girl with a camera, the girl with a blog…I hope I am known as the girl who would do anything for her King.

I pray that I always keep the God whom I serve in my mind, and remember that I am His and His alone, and I serve Him and Him alone. The rest of the things in my life, as treasured as they may be, can never take Jesus’ place.

 

I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold,
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or land,
Yes, I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand.Than to be the king of a vast domain
And be held in sin’s dread sway
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.

I’d rather have Jesus than worldly applause,
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame,
I’d rather be true to His holy name.

I am crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me.”Galatians 2:20
Leave a Reply

