A Year.

WordPress sent me a little message this evening, letting me know that I’d been blogging here for a year now. I had blogged for a few years before on Blogger, but switched over because WordPress would give me the chance to run a more professional, clean blog. It’s crazy to think that I’ve been blogging here for a year, and I’m so thankful for all of the people I’ve met through this little blog. In a year, I’ve gotten over two hundred followers, over 7 thousand views from people all over the world, all the way from places like Estonia, Australia, India, Singapore, Germany, the United Kingdom, and more. I’ve met quite a few people whom I’ve been very blessed to have been able to come in contact with, and I cherish all of the thought provoking and wonderful conversations I’ve had because of this blog. I’ve received some hateful comments, I’ve debated many people, and I know because of those people, the good and the bad, I’ve been pushed further into the arms of Christ and been led to study the Bible more. Because of this blog, I’ve gotten to know my Savior better. This blog has been an outreach, and I am so blessed by every single one of you that come along and read. Even if you don’t comment or like the posts, I appreciate you. I appreciate the fact that you take time out of your day to read my posts. The thought that so many people have read what I’ve written amazes me. I had someone message me the other day, saying that her and her mother never miss a post, that this blog’s name is a popular thing around their house, and oh my goodness. I just can’t even wrap my head around that.

So thank you. Thank you all for reading, for supporting me, for giving me a reason to keep writing, for inspiring me.

I want to talk a little bit about the impact that this blog and other blogs have made on me, and how social media changed my life positively. Social media is bashed a lot by people, people see this generation and they realize how addicted we are to social media. They see the negative sides of it (and yes, there’s a ton of negatives here.) and they want to judge every part of social media. But as you all know, I’m very passionate about social media and what I believe it could be for every single Christian out there with access to a computer, smartphone or tablet. Y’all probably remember this post that I wrote last month about what a great tool social media can be, and I still firmly believe that this is a tool that could be great and impact thousands of people around the world, but most of us aren’t using it. Blogging is something great. I’ve been blogging since I was about twelve, it started off as a homeschooling project, I got tired of it, then started up again after stumbling across a few blogs that I loved and that inspired me majorly. Blogs like Fresh Modesty, Boyer Family Singers, Calico Sisters and plenty more. Through blogging, I’ve met a lot of absolutely amazing young women (and some men!) who have similar convictions and morals as myself, who live their lives to the glory of the Lord, and they use social media as the wonderful tool that it is. Because of blogging, I’ve been able to be a much larger witness than I would’ve ever been. Blogging has given me the courage to witness out in the world when I’m face to face with someone that I know doesn’t belong to Christ. Blogging has lit a fire in my soul, because through blogging, I’ve met lost people, I’ve seen the need for Christ around the world, and once I started writing about Him, I couldn’t stop.

I’ve encouraged people to create a blog and write down their thoughts on our Savior, share sermon notes, do Bible Studies with people, and I’ve seen what an impact it’s made on not only myself, but on other people. Writing is a great thing, especially if it’s used for God’s glory.

So, here’s to a year of serious blogging, of writing posts 100% for Christ and dedicated to Him. Here’s to many more, and hopefully this year I’ll meet even more people and do even more than I did the previous year.

 

8 thoughts on “A Year.

  1. Sadie December 11, 2015 / 1:27 am

    Wow! A year. I remember discovering you on Instagram, when you were, @thewesternway and surprisingly, on thanksgiving, I got very addicted to your Instagram! This was last year I think, and I loved you Instagram ever since then. I was so inspired by you, and your horses, and just the way you loved God and told people about him, no matter what people thought. And that’s amazing. I felt inspired by your account, so I felt I needed to tell people more about God, through my account, @trot_by_faith . I started putting Bible verses in my caption, before I wrote something about the horses I was taking pictures of. I hoped that through that account, and through my captions I could bring others closer to God, as you have.
    But, I got my first hater, and that just shut me down. I left Instagram. It’s really hard to think about leaving, I loved your account so much! It broke me to leave. And I’m so happy, that you are still going strong! And congrats on your 1 year anniversary of your amazing blog! God Bless, Sadie Fisher

    Like

    • kalinann December 11, 2015 / 1:38 am

      Thank you, Sadie! Stand strong against those haters. The Bible tells us that just as He was hated, we will be too, but remember that you’ve got the King of King’s there to defend you. Fight the good fight, He’ll reward you for it! I hope that one day you’ll come back and continue on your journey with witnessing!
      Thank you so much for your sweet words, it means a lot to me!

      Like

  2. Sadie December 11, 2015 / 1:43 am

    Your just to sweet beyond words! I hope one day, I will come back. And if I do, you’ll sure know about it:) thanks for the words of encouragement as well. God Bless, Sadie Fisher ❤

    Like

  3. Paige December 11, 2015 / 5:33 pm

    Congratulations on one year with this blog! 🙂 Keep writing for the King of Kings.

    Like

  4. 2015horse December 12, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    Wow! I remember when I first found your blog like 2 years ago. Keep fighting the good fight! Thank you for being such a bold witness for Jesus.

    Like

  5. Jazzmin December 27, 2015 / 1:41 am

    Kalin,
    I thoroughly enjoyed this post. Happy one year of blogging here! Writing and expressing thoughts on our Savior in a space like this is a such a beautiful thing, and the way it can impact others and ourselves is so powerful. I’m thankful for blogging because of that.
    Your words flowed beautifully here as always 🙂 One of my favorite things you said that made me think: “I’ve received some hateful comments, I’ve debated many people, and I know because of those people, the good and the bad, I’ve been pushed further into the arms of Christ and been led to study the Bible more. Because of this blog, I’ve gotten to know my Savior better.”

    Wanted to thank you so much for your wishes you just left me on my newest post 🙂 I hope you had a blessed Christmas with your family and that you have a wonderful start to the new year soon to arrive.

    God bless you!
    Have a great evening,
    Jazzmin

    Like

    • kalinann December 30, 2015 / 12:51 am

      Thank you so much, Jazzmin! I agree completely – I’m so thankful for the ability to blog, it’s incredible how many doors it’s opened for me, and how much I’ve learned about not only myself, but my Savior, through it!

      We had a wonderful Christmas! I hope you have a great New Years! Hard to believe it’s coming up so quickly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

