From The Archives: 5 Reasons I Started Being Blunt.

If you followed my old blog, you may remember this post. I felt like it was timely for where I’m at now, and how I’m currently feeling about a lot of situations in my life. Hardly a day goes by where I haven’t been told off by someone for being too blunt. So here’s a reminder on why I am, and why I will continue to be.

It’s no secret that I’ve become a rather blunt person – my friends often joke about it. It’s not that I’m coarse or mean, I’m just very to-the-point on things that matter and I’m not afraid to say state my beliefs or feelings on a subject. That being said, I haven’t always been that way. I used to be pretty shy and I hated meeting new people, especially if talking to them was necessary. But now?

I don’t really remember when it happened or how it happened, but I’ve become a pretty straight-forward person who doesn’t really care that much about what people think about me or my morals or my conservative brain or my faith. And if an Atheist walks up to me and wants to start up a conversation, I’ll jump at the chance to debate because God always wins over text books and no, I’m not one of those Christian’s who have no argument because they know nothing about the God that they claim to love and worship and adore. (honestly I’d rather debate with an Atheist than a Christian with a hardened heart. Any day of the week.) I’m not afraid to be blunt with a friend who is leading a life that will bring her only sadness and heartache, I’m not afraid to be truthful. Not anymore. I’m not afraid to tell anyone I come in contact with that I am against gay marriage, abortion, sex before marriage, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, etc.  I get my fair share of hate, whether it be emailed to me, sent to me on Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram or commented on this blog for the whole world to see, and it stopped bothering me a long time ago. But why? And how? Why did I become blunt?

1.) Because I am sick and tired of sin ruining lives, relationships and families.

When you see close family members dying daily of drug addiction, you get tired of it pretty quickly. So I became blunt about that and no, I’m not afraid to show those family members how I feel about what they are doing. I try my best to do it in love (which is something God’s convicted me of a lot, and I’m sure He’ll have to do it again. And again. And again.) and support them. When you see friends going down really hard paths because of anxiety, depression, sexuality confusions and more, you get tired of it. Frankly, I am NOT going to stand by and watch someone go down a path and do things that I know is wrong. What kind of friend would I be if I just sat by and watched? Sin is sin is sin. It’s bad. It ruins things. It ruins people. And one day, maybe my bluntness will cause someone to think before doing whatever it is that they do and wake. up.

  2.) Because ooey-gooey, lovey-dovey’ness isn’t going to get us anywhere.

There is a time and place for love.

I’ll be the first to say that I’m a typical girl – I’m a hopeless romantic, lover of all things sweet and mushy in the world, but let’s be honest. Do you see those ooey gooey Christian’s out there making too big of a difference? Telling the world that there is Heaven but never mentioning that there is a Hell is going to cause a lot of messed up people to think that God is only love when the Bible clearly states that He is also a jealous, righteous, strong God. He will not be poked and prodded. With that being said, I’m not saying to be a jerk. God says to love thy neighbor and treat them with love and understanding, but He did not say to treat them as if they were perfect angels and that them sinning is okay. Granted, we don’t need to be hypocrites (because all fall short of the glory of God) but we don’t need to be weak, either. We are also supposed to hold other Christian’s accountable for their actions and to watch ourselves so that we are also strong and not tempted by sin. Matthew 18:15-17 tells us that when a brother in Christ (or sister) sins that we are supposed to tell him of his fault but we aren’t supposed to stir up gossip, either.

Plus, if we truly loved people, we’d be preaching about Hell, as well, because Hell is exactly what we are fighting against. When we act as if there is no Hell, we might as well be on Satan’s side.

3.) Haters became my motivators.

Little did I know, that when I started this blog, it would not be anything I pictured (or wanted) it to be. I had planned for this to be a modest fashion blog, like Fresh Modesty or Bramblewood Fashion but God had something very different in mind. Before I started this blog, I wasn’t a blunt person at all. I also wasn’t very sure about God, my faith or the Word of God. I didn’t know much about the Bible because I had no “reason” to be (other than, ya know, the obvious) but then I started this and I started researching the Bible more and getting more involved in church and I realized what a big deal this whole God thing really is. Little did I know, that these verses listed below would become my motto for this blog in general. As I started getting more involved, haters stopped bothering me because they were proof that I’m doing something right. I’m not perfect in the least and God convicts me of stuff every single day and sometimes I wonder why I even try to write on a Christian blog because I’m not worthy.

John 15:18 If the world hate you, you know that it hated me before it hated you.

John 15:20 Remember the word that I said to you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.

Jeremiah 20:11 But the LORD is with me as a mighty terrible one: therefore my persecutors shall stumble, and they shall not prevail: they shall be greatly ashamed; for they shall not prosper: their everlasting confusion shall never be forgotten.

4.) Because I stopped caring about if I offend someone.

This goes hand-in-hand with my last reason. Keep in mind (please.) that I’m not saying it’s okay to be mean or hurt someone’s feelings. There’s a huge difference of bullying someone and sticking to your morals.

I have several acquaintances that I talk to pretty often that constantly joke about how blunt I am. A lot of them probably get offended by me. One of which is struggling with a very sensitive topic – homosexuality. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve point blank told her that homosexuality is a sin, one worthy of God’s punishment, and like all sin, it will lead you to Satan. Yeah, I’ve probably offended her a lot. Yeah, one of these days, I’ll probably lose her friendship. But honestly? If I really care about you, I should be saying these things. If I really believe in Hell, I should be fighting for her life to be saved from it.

I’ve debated with a lot of people about religion and offended a lot of people about religion. My posts on Facebook and this blog have gotten me deleted off of their friendlist and it’s actually caused my relationship with family members to be kind of strained because I couldn’t care less if I offend you with my anti-abortion posts because that’s what I believe and I know it’s truth – if you don’t like it, you can delete me. It’s not that I have this sick desire to hurt someone’s feelings, it’s that I have this desire to make sure everyone I know realizes that there’s a God out there and He’s not taking excuses on judgement day.

5.) Because God saved me.

The most important reason.

I am blunt because the Lord saved my soul. He sent His son to die on the cross for me and I owe Him everything. Losing a few friends or hurting a few relationships on this earth is nothing compared to what He did for me. All He truly asks of us as Christian’s after we are saved is to go and be fishers of men. He asked us to go out and preach the gospel and tell the whole world the truth, not just the watered-down version of the gospel. And if that’s what He wants me to do?

Here I am, Lord. Send me. 
 

“If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for.”
Charles H. Spurgeon
Leave a Reply

