We Have No Reverence.

What has happened to reverence?

I mean, seriously. I think that one of our biggest problems (Us Christians) is that we literally have no respect for God. Sure, we love Him. Sure, we try to follow Him. Sure, we understand the salvation story and we appreciate what He did for us and we’ve accepted that…but I wonder, how many of us dig into it and realize how great our God is? How many of us walk into church and praise Him with zero reverence? How many of us act as if He’s just a simple man, like He’s just a buddy of ours? How many of us live our lives proclaiming to be Christian’s, witnessing and spreading a gospel…but not truly spreading His gospel? I wonder, where is our reverence and respect for our Creator?

We walk in church, His house, and we dress immodestly or with no effort. Now, I don’t want this to sound judgmental because I understand that God isn’t going to refuse to save someone because of how they dress and etc. And I also understand that some can not afford nice clothing – and every single Christian who is living a life for God deserves a place in a pew. Every. Single. Christian. But here’s the deal, folks. If you were going to meet the King of your country, would you dress for him how you dress in church? No, you don’t have to wear dresses or skirts. You don’t have to follow other people’s personal modesty convictions (For instance, I only wear skirts/dresses at church…but that doesn’t mean YOU have to.) but you do have to respect Christ for who He is.

Romans 12:1 I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.

Are we forgetting what church is? Church isn’t a social meeting, or a casual club. Church is God’s house, holy ground. Remember who our God is.

We have no reverence when it comes to spreading the gospel. We are so quick to say God is Love, and spread those lovely attributes of Him..which is not a bad thing, not all the time. God is love – because of His love for us, He sent His son for me.  He died for me. He saved me at my worst and loves me. He is full of grace and love and He is amazing, but He is also a jealous God. He is a strong God. He created our whole universe, our everything, He created every single person, every single thing on earth. He has the power to move mountains, to part seas, to heal us. He brought Lazarus back to life, He healed a blind man, and when He is coming, He is not coming as a meek carpenter.

Revelation 19:11-16 Then I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he judges and makes war. His eyes are like a flame of fire, and on his head are many diadems, and he has a name written that no one knows but himself. He is clothed in a robe dipped in blood, and the name by which he is called is The Word of God. And the armies of heaven, arrayed in fine linen, white and pure, were following him on white horses. From his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations, and he will rule them with a rod of iron. He will tread the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God the Almighty….

When we witness, we are NOT called to water down the gospel for others. That is the very opposite of what Jesus taught. Jesus taught us through His own ways of witnessing seen in the Bible – do not water down His gospel, do not make a false idol of the god that makes people comfortable. When we water down His gospel and don’t share His power, we are forgetting that we are to look upon Him with reverence.

When we worship, we have no reverence. We use music that sounds no different from the world, we pervert our worship to draw in a crowd and we are focused completely on entertainment, and we’ve lost God along the way. We dance and chant and scream at “Christian” concerts…but I ask, where is the reverence?

Lastly, I believe that we lack reverence in our day to day. In our prayer, in every part of our lives. Remember, Jesus isn’t a human friend. He is the friend of sinners, but He is also God Almighty, someone that we are demanded to fear.

2 thoughts on “We Have No Reverence.

  1. jesusandcoffee August 29, 2015 / 2:32 am

    Hey Kalin!
    I just have a question. I worship with far more reverence when taking part in contemporary worship than I do worshiping to hymn books. That’s just my personal preference. I feel closer to God and I get more out of contemporary worship. I guess my question is what you think about that. It seems like you think, you can’t have reverence in a way that is different than the way you have it. But I could be wrong.

    Like

    • kalinann August 29, 2015 / 2:34 am

      I think it depends on how far that contemporary line goes. I don’t have an issue with the contemporary stuff (some of my favorite songs our church sings are some of the newer ones) as long as it doesn’t cross a line as far as being more for entertainment than about God. As long as it actually stays Christ-centered, I totally get that. Everyone has different music preferences. Songs like Mercy Tree and Oceans and so many others are great songs in CCM, but when they start sounding like total secular music is where I see no reverence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

