What The Bible Says About Gender Roles.

All over the Bible, we see these words…“Wives, submit yourselves.” It makes a lot of lost people curious, a lot of women offended, and probably even gives men (not true Christian men, as I’ll explain below.)a bit of an ego boost. The Bible clearly says that after the fall of man, wives were to submit themselves to their husbands, and to become below them. Now, I’m going to say another controversial thing today – and no, I don’t like controversy. Or drama. Or arguing. What I do like, however, is spreading the uncomfortable truth of God. And if that causes those above things..so be it.

Women aren’t equal to men.

Okay, okay, got that off my chest.

But don’t get me wrong here. I’m not saying that women can’t have careers outside of the home (even the Proverbs 31 woman was seen working out of her house.) or that men should rule over us, or that we should sit, be quiet and live our lives in silence and do everything men say. But..we are women. We aren’t men. Anyone can look at our bodies and see the differences, not only the obvious ways, but in the way that we are built. We are often smaller, more sensitive, and we are obviously feminine. That’s not to say a woman can’t work and be strong and hold her own, but we are not men. The Bible teaches us time and time again what a true woman of God should be – a woman who is meek, humble, pure, and gentle.

God did not intend for His women who have been bought by the blood and have come to Him, to be what we’ve made them. We are not called to be coarse, above men, or improper. And I dare to say that even equality is against His teaching. We don’t need equality with men because we are not men. I believe that a woman at work who works just as hard as the male should be paid fairly. I believe that a woman should be able to have a career if she feels that is where God is calling her. I believe some women are not meant to be wives, or mothers…but that doesn’t mean we are equal to men. We are not the same. That would be like me comparing to completely different animals and saying that they are the same.

Proverbs 21:9 It is better to live in a corner of the housetop than in a house shared with a quarrelsome wife.

1 Timothy 3:11 Even so must their wives be grave, not slanderers, sober, faithful in all things. 

1 Corinthians 11:3 But I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God. 

Ephesians 5:22-23, 33 Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior… However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.

I could quite literally go on, and on, with verses about how Godly women should be, and all of them command us to be submissive. And when we are asking for equality, we are trumping the man’s place and taking it. And that, is the opposite of submissive. The man is the head, and yes, he is meant to be the caretaker, the man in charge, the head of the house. Women can not truly respect men until we see those differences.

*Also, quick note, women are not called to submit to ungodly people. We are always to remain humble, and gentle as we can be, but we are called to submit to God first and foremost, and follow His lead.

7 thoughts on “What The Bible Says About Gender Roles.

  1. Gabby August 6, 2015 / 3:34 pm

    Great post, Kalin! The longer my husband and I are married (and the more I love my God), the more I learn about the kind of wife He calls me to be, the ways I can respect my husband, the ways I can help him lead our home/family (without trumping his place), etc – even when I work out of the home and earn a little more. Thank you for this reminder! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tori Moretz August 7, 2015 / 6:27 pm

    Love this! I may have interpreted this wrong, but I believe we should submit to ungodly people as long as what they ask us to do doesn’t go against God. The verse that says to submit to your husband does not just refer to godly men, but the ungodly too, as long as what they want you to do is right. Same goes with governing authority. (Romans 13: 1-6). Again, I apologize If I misinterpreted what you were trying to say!

    Like

    • kalinann August 29, 2015 / 1:26 am

      Just now seeing your comment, whoops! I do believe that we should submit to certain people (even if they are ungodly) as long as they aren’t demanding we do something against our faith, especially if it’s at work or something like that. Sorry I didn’t make that more clear! I have trouble with being super clear while on a rant, haha! But yes, my point was mostly just on when they demand we do ungodly things that go against our beliefs.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ashley August 19, 2015 / 12:55 am

    Hi! I like your blog. It’s really nice. 🙂
    I hope you check out my blog and please follow by email. I also have a Scripture giveaway going on right now, so I hope you look at it and enter. 🙂 http://creatingpreciousmoments.blogspot.com/2015/08/its-time-for-a.html

    I hope you also check out my crochet shop. I would love to make something for you. ashleysyarnworks.blogspot.com

    In Christ,
    Ashley

    Like

    • kalinann August 29, 2015 / 1:26 am

      Thank you, Ashley! 🙂 I’ll check out your shop!

      Like

Leave a Reply

