Ignoring Sin IS A Sin.

Ah yes…here comes Kalin with yet another happy, cheerful post…

Not.

I honestly had every intention of posting something about grace tonight, but my facebook is flooded with things that convicted me to go another route. Add a few very convicting sermons by a local preacher (not my own pastor, but one I enjoy listening to.) I decided that, yes, I need to write more about this.

I’m sure we’ve all noticed the huge amount of debate going on over homosexuality lately. I’m not here to talk about homosexuality, not per say, but it’s definitely a huge reason behind this post. There is a lot of sin running around this country, all of which is bad. Anytime we go against God, we are committing a terrible sin. A sin that nailed Jesus to the cross. We mustn’t forget how sinful we all are, we mustn’t forget that homosexuality is not the only sin in the world worth mentioning. But it’s a very, very big deal. I’ve seen more Christian’s post something along the lines of…

“Well, we all sin. Our sins aren’t any worse than theirs!” (read this for more info on that topic.)

“Well, we’ve got to love them. We aren’t supposed to judge, after all.”

“Well, our world is always going to be sinful but being mean isn’t going to help!”

But really, doesn’t the Bible warn us against being lukewarm? Doesn’t the Bible tell us to fight against sin? God never said to keep our mouths shut about sin and the consequences because we are all sinful. If a man had the cure to cancer, but had cancer himself, would he be banned from sharing the cure? No! As Christian’s, we are fully aware of our eternal life without the Lord Jesus Christ, that should make us want to shout as loudly as we can, “Sinner! Stop sinning! God wants to save you! Repent, the time is at hand!” In the words of Charles Spurgeon,

“If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for.”
Charles H. Spurgeon

How selfish is it of Christian’s to be so silent and scared of being honest about sin? I honestly don’t understand how some people can call themselves children of God without feeling conviction about not spreading His entire gospel. We can not quote “Love thy neighbor” when we do not love our neighbors enough to be terrified for their eternal life? We can not quote “Judge not” and completely ignore the context.

We all know what the wages of death are without salvation, but we also know what we must do to receive it. Can we have salvation without repentance? Of course not. So how can we expect to reach lost souls and see people saved if we do not give them the whole salvation story?

8 thoughts on “Ignoring Sin IS A Sin.

  1. mikaylaannm July 10, 2015 / 3:35 am

    This really made me think, Kalin. I strictly think gay marriage is okay in a political setting. From a Christian standpoint, I know it’s a sin and will tell anyone that. That may not make sense to most people, but in my head it works out haha. But anyway, we should definitely love people enough to point out their sin. I am a really strong believer in loving others and sometimes I forget that if I truly love them, I’d show them the way to heaven. Because after all, I want to see them there so badly! I must say, though, that before you tell someone that they’re sinning and going to hell, you must have a relationship with them. If you walk up to a random person and do it, they’ll ride you off as someone to not be taken seriously because you’re not someone they trust or care about. It would also probably give them a negative view of the church. So it’s important to have some sort of relationship with the person first before you start pointing out their sins! Sorry this comment is long and scattered… It’s just all of the thoughts that came to me while reading. 🙂

    Like

    • kalinann July 10, 2015 / 2:13 pm

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂 I kind of have to disagree with your point on not witnessing (well, not witnessing but pointing out sin) to strangers. I’m reminded of Ray Comfort and a few other evangelists I know. They’ve been able to touch countless people and they definitely haven’t hidden sin! 🙂 one of Ray’s signature things is him going through the Ten Commandments, after asking someone if they deserve heaven. He points out their sin (and all of ours) lying, adultery, hatred….and tells these complete strangers, sometimes one at a time or in a crowd, where they’re headed. He is a very successful evangelist.
      I think it depends on how we witness and if we have the ability to back ourselves up in love. If we’re just hatefully spitting at them and saying they’re sinful, I understand. But I’ve told complete strangers about heaven and hell, and I’ve honestly never had anyone become rude or nasty. Most of those people have continued talking to me. 🙂

      Like

      • mikaylaannm July 10, 2015 / 2:48 pm

        My only fear with evangelists like that is that they may just be scaring people into salvation. I’m definitely not saying that he does that or anything because I’m not familiar with him, but I’m always more keen on people coming to Christ honestly not just because they are scared of Hell, you know? I definitely agree that hatefully spitting at people is no way to reach them and if you back it up with love, it’s better. And that’s really awesome that no one has responded rudely to you and has continued talking to you. I guess in my experience it’s better to have a relationship with someone before pointing out their specific sin. Also in my experience, it’s easier to actually know someone’s sin if I have a relationship with them. I’m not talking about just normal witnessing. Obviously, we should be telling anyone we meet about Jesus! I just think that forming a relationship makes the conversations and stuff more honest. But we all witness in different ways and I think that’s okay! It sounds like it works for you the way you are doing it, and that’s great! 🙂

        Like

  2. Sonya July 10, 2015 / 4:51 am

    Kalin, Thank you for your willingness to stand firm on the truth of God’s Word. During these last days people want to have their “ears tickled” rather than heeding truth, but it is through the Law (God’s standards) that one comes to the knowledge of their sin and their need of a Redeemer. The issue of homosexuality is at the forefront of the culture wars because of its perverse nature, and because they are demanding that we all give our approval to their sin. Romans 1 shows the progression of gross immorality and idolatry that is the result of rejecting the truth of God’s Word. We must be more concerned about warning sinners than we are about our own comfort and acceptance in this world.

    Like

    • kalinann July 10, 2015 / 2:15 pm

      Thank you for the support! I completely agree. Christian’s have to fight this sin so much harder than most of the sin that’s gone before. We’ve never been demanded to accept a sin like this before, other than divorce and other attacks on marriage. This is such a big part of our lives being attacked by Satan! If we can’t stand firm again him now, we won’t be able to do it in the future. Things will only get worse from here!

      Like

  3. Tori Moretz July 10, 2015 / 2:24 pm

    And yet again you write another wonderful article! One of my favorite Christian bloggers!

    Like

  4. Sonya July 11, 2015 / 4:53 am

    There isn’t always the opportunity to form a relationship with every person we come into contact with, but we should always be prepared to make a defense for our faith. We never know who has already come ahead of us planting seeds in that persons life and we must be willing to step outside our “comfort zone” and speak truth to them whether we ever see them again or if it makes them angry or uncomfortable. If they react that way the problem is with them, not in presenting them with the truth. What they do with our witness is in God’s hands and for the Holy Spirit to convict their hearts, we are simply to be faithful to relate the whole truth of the gospel. 1 Peter :13-17

    Like

Leave a Reply

