My Sins Don’t Make Bruce Jenner’s Sins “Okay”

I opted out of posting about the Duggar scandal…at least, I think that’s my plan. We shall see. But this situation with Bruce Jenner, believe it or not, is pretty close to my heart because I know (not well, but I know them) some people with the same struggle.

I’ve seen so many posts about how we should love Bruce. And we should. We should love him, and pray for him fervently. We should hope with everything we have in us that he finds the Lord and turns from his sins, just as us Christian’s have. God does not choose favorites, I know that He loves Bruce and He died for Bruce. He died for everyone. The liars, the murderers, the cheaters, the homosexuals…and yes, He died for the “transgenders.”

I’m not against loving him.

Those posts have good words, they are right on about how we should care for the people who have gone through what Bruce Jenner has, but you know what they have wrong? They use our sins as a cover-up.

Everyone sins, they said. And they are right. We all fall short of the glory of God, isn’t that in our Bibles? But it seems as though we are making excuses for Bruce’s sin. And sin is inexcusable.

If Bruce had committed this sin in his past and repented, then we could say that everyone sins, and that we should forgive him and welcome him and brush this off. But Bruce Jenner has not. He has turned himself into a man-made “woman” and has slandered the word of God. He has bought false womanhood, and he has disrespected his Christ-given body, his temple, and destroyed it. He has committed a sin, and he shows no regret, no conviction, and definitely no repentance. And he does it all whilst calling himself a Christian.

We all sin, we all fall short. But just because we all sin, does not mean that Bruce is free to sin. It doesn’t make his sins okay in the eyes of God.

This is the difference – when a Christian sins, they are convicted by the Holy Ghost, and they repent. They ask for forgiveness. Bruce Jenner is pretending to be a woman, pretending to be some kind of twisted hero, and he is sinning against the Word of God.

Deuteronomy 22:5

“A woman shall not wear a man’s garment, nor shall a man put on a woman’s cloak, for whoever does these things is an abomination to the Lord your God.

Don’t misquote God’s word. “We all fall short” is not some kind of free ticket to continue on sinning and excusing sin and ignoring it. It’s inspiration to be as Godly as we possibly can, and to make God proud. My sins are horrible, so are yours. So are Bruce’s. But who is repenting? If Bruce repents…that is the time for the welcoming. But sin should not be welcomed into a Christian’s life, and it should not be excused.

Jesus would sit with Bruce Jenner. Jesus would love him. Jesus would never be ashamed to be in his presence. But Jesus would never say that his sins are equal to every Christian’s. Bruce Jenner’s sins are not equal because they do not come with conviction or repentance.

6 thoughts on “My Sins Don’t Make Bruce Jenner’s Sins “Okay”

  1. Lael June 6, 2015 / 12:07 am

    Wow! Very well said and expressed. You gave me some new ways of looking at the situation. Agree with it all. Would love to see your post on the Duggars.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paige June 6, 2015 / 8:07 pm

    Hmm, good thoughts here Kalin. Thanks for sharing them!
    It’s true that just because everyone sins doesn’t mean that sin can be excused. Sin is still sin! If Bruce Jenner has called himself a Christian, but we are seeing him living unrepentant in a lifestyle of sin, we are able to view him as one who claims the name of Christ, but does not live as one who has truly been saved. We are told not to fellowship with such people!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathryn June 7, 2015 / 4:35 pm

    I don’t often read this blog; (not because I don’t like it!) but because I share different beliefs than you do, although I can respect your articulate writing style and your passion for your beliefs. I commend you for writing thought provoking and interesting topics – things I have never even thought of in my day to day life, simply because it doesn’t effect my way of life.

    I wanted to post a reply on this specific blog post mostly because I am confused by something. If Bruce were to repent his sins, as a new-found Christian woman (because this is how he NOW views himself), would he be forgiven in the eyes of God? Would he be accepted into the Christian community?

    It is actually pretty interesting to me how the whole Duggar Scandal VS Bruce/Caitlynn Jenner debacle has seemingly separated the Christian/biblical community. Those who believe Josh acted like a “normal teenage boy” (their words, not mine) are the same who believe that Bruce’s gender issue is completely unacceptable.

    Like

    • kalinann June 7, 2015 / 6:09 pm

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂 I love it when people who don’t agree with me comment on this blog, it’s always great to hear other opinions!
      That’s a really good question. I don’t believe that he could truly repent and still be a “woman” so to speak. We’re asked to change our ways. Just like homosexuality is a sin to a Christian, if that homosexual were to get saved, he or she would need to stop the act of homosexuality. Will Bruce struggle? Of course, we all do, and God would never hold his mistakes or mess-ups against him.
      The whole Josh Duggar thing shocked me. I was so incredibly disappointed. We know the family, although not well, and I know Josh. What he did was inexcusable..but I don’t think it’s unforgivable. Nothing is too much to forgive in God’s eyes 🙂

      Like

      • Cathryn June 17, 2015 / 4:05 pm

        Thanks for replying!

        I understand what you are saying, but at the same time, doesn’t God accept us for who we are? I’m not trying to start an argument or debate, but it still confuses me greatly. I’m under the impression and understanding that God accepts everyone, yet if Bruce identifies as a female, isn’t that who he truly is/ who he wants to be? I guess the same could be said for murderers/rapists, etc [not that I am saying Bruce Jenner is any of those, LOL] – that is who they are and who they want to be.

        I guess what you are saying is that God will forgive, but he will not accept repentance if the person is still committing (what God ‘says’) is sin?

        It’s just difficult, because I don’t think that Bruce/Caitlynn will consider or even think of this gender identify crisis as a mistake – this is who he/she wants to be now – forever.

        Like

  4. kalinann June 20, 2015 / 4:59 pm

    God does forgive and He will accept us despite our sin, we don’t have to be perfect or straight little arrows for Him to accept us, but we do have to repent and realize our mistakes. We all fall short, but we do have to try to be better. He can’t accept false repentance. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

