falling.

It’s no secret that I’m a huge promoter of purity. I’ve quoted Eric and Leslie Ludy several times, I’ve even written a post called “True Love Waits” and had a purity ring until it fell off…which, that sounds terrible but it’s not a bad sign, I promise, I just have really small fingers and the smallest ring I could find was a size 5. Which isn’t my size.

Anyways.

It’s also no secret that I am, like everyone else, getting older. In these days, it’s kind of unheard of for a girl my age to not have a boyfriend, or at the very least, a crush. See, I have no desire to date right now. I’m really, really happy with my…*ahem* sacred singleness. I’m excited for the next few years not because I can finally start seeking out a guy to date, nor am I eagerly planning my future wedding with Pinterest pins. I’m using these years to actively seek out the Man of my dreams…and that’s Jesus. And if the right man does come along, I’ll know that he has had to seek Christ in order to find me. That is the only love story I will settle for, that is what I’m waiting for. I can’t say that it hasn’t hurt to see every girl I know out there going out with their boyfriends, being asked out, squealing over crushes…because it has. It’s made my life a little awkward in some aspects. I don’t have a guy to gush over, nor do I have plans with one for the weekend. But I would rather be alone than be with a guy who doesn’t cherish me the way that Christ does.

I’ve been told by many of my friends that maybe, I’m being too strict. Maybe I have too high of expectations. Maybe I scare guys off by being too conservative or whatever.

I’m a hopeless romantic, though. I dream of having a guy out there, and I dream of finding him eventually. But I’ve also come to realize that if the only Man in my life is God, I’m going to be okay. I’m okay with falling in love with Him, and not with an earthly prince. I’m okay with giving Him the pen of my love story, even if it means that He is writing one very different for me, a love story that revolves around me and the King of King, not a girl and a boy here on earth.

My heart remains my own, or should I say, His, and my mind stays on Christ. As of now, I’m dedicated to Him, and my future with Him. And I’m going to trust that He’s got it all figured out.

3 thoughts on “falling.

  1. Jazzmin May 28, 2015 / 3:21 am

    Amazing truth and inspiration in this post. Your attitude and outlook is inspiring and encouraging and declares so much truth and resolve for the love and the relationship that matters more than any prince sweeping us off our feet, that of a relationship with our King. This is something that I have been thinking about a lot lately and praying about so much and I am extremely blessed by your words… I am like you, a hopeless romantic (especially watching “The Magic of Ordinary Days” 😉 ), but I think it is vital to be content in God and falling in love with Him, not in pining after a man on Earth to love us. And I was nodding my head throughout your entire post, but especially where you mentioned that people tell you your standards or expectations are too high. I am experiencing that too, particularly with friends who have and are dating, and it just makes me even happier to be joyful in the Lord and to refuse to settle no matter what.

    Blessings!
    Have a great evening, and thank you so much for this post☺
    ~Jazzmin

    Like

  2. Danni May 31, 2015 / 5:28 pm

    It would be nice to hear your thoughts on the recent Duggar issues in light of this post. I think it ties in a bit to your current post and I’d love to hear what you think of it all.

    Like

    • kalinann June 1, 2015 / 9:46 pm

      Hi, Danni! Thanks for the comment. I’ve decided not to make a post about the Duggar scandal, mostly because I believe that this story never should’ve come out again. I will say that I am a believer in second chances, and repentance, and God’s forgiveness. What Josh did was horrible, but it’s nothing that Christ won’t forgive. I do believe that he has turned from his sins and changed his ways, and I won’t publish a story about it. The victims, and his family/friends that are involved, deserve to put this behind them. Whether Josh has truly repented or not, the victims don’t need to relive this horror again. I know they’ll never see my post anyways, but I want to see this thing over with. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

