Something In The Water.

*this post is not to be judgmental, or rude to Carrie, the dancers/actors in her video, or even the fans of her/this song. This is just strictly a post on my own opinions, which I believe are based on the Bible. 🙂

I was scrolling through a few articles today, and came across one about Carrie Underwood’s song, Something In The Water. I won’t link to the video in this post for reasons that I’ll list below. I’ve heard so many reviews on the song, Christian’s everywhere have been praising Underwood’s name for writing such a powerful, Biblical song and for not being afraid to sing Christian songs despite her being a primarily country artist. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a fan of Carrie’s – seeing her sing Jesus, Take The Wheel one moment then watching her continue on to sing Something Bad with Miranda Lambert, and reading about her church’s support for homosexuals to take part in important roles in their church, to seeing her dress immodestly and more, confuses me on who she really is. But nonetheless, I do enjoy a few of her gospel songs, and I sat down to watch Something In The Water’s music video. Admittedly, I was going to watch the lyric video but I saw the opening frame of the music video and wondered…am I really seeing what I’m seeing on a “Christian” music video? In the very first frame, we see a man and a woman soaking wet with water, dressed in see-through clothing so we can see a thin piece of fabric covering the woman’s breasts and bottom – nothing more than underwear. We see her lay on the ground provocatively, and we see the man throw her in the air where she continues dancing and does a split mid-air, revealing her crotch.

And I’m sitting here thinking to myself…if you just turned down the music, this wouldn’t even come close to classifying as a gospel song. This is a worldly video with the “Christian” words attached. I can’t imagine Christ condoning this.The lyrics are powerful, but the video seems to contradict everything that Carrie is promoting in the video. She talks about being washed by the water, of being changed and free from sin, but in order to change and be a Born-Again Christian..we must be born again, literally. We must change our old sinful ways, we must be different, and apart from this world. The Bible speaks clearly on modesty, and how women and men are supposed to act.

And yet…in that first frame, the clothing in her video are so see-through, colored the very same shade as the people’s skin, you’d swear it was their actual skin you are seeing. I don’t even feel comfortable posting the images or linking to the video. I just have to ask….

When did dancing sexually, clothed in see-through clothing that are almost non-existent..when did this become “the gospel”?

3 thoughts on “Something In The Water.

  1. Lauren Patrick May 8, 2015 / 9:03 pm

    Oh yikes! I loved that song the first time I heard it on the radio. I was really impressed, but I just can’t believe the music video! What part of that video even tells the story of the song (besides that they are dancing in water, yeah, cool). Man, I am with you, that is not okay.

    Like

    • kalinann May 8, 2015 / 9:22 pm

      My sentiments exactly! I read the lyrics after and thought, “Wow. This good actually be a good song.” it’s seriously a shame that EVERYTHING has to be so sexualized now. Even Christian music!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sadie Fisher June 20, 2015 / 12:57 am

    Wow. This is what my mom talks about all the time, even Christian music on the radio sounds good, but the music videos are just disgusting. It really makes me sad. A lot of country songs talk about God one minute then the next minute are singing about partying all night. That ram truck commercial, (that Miranda lambert sings) I liked the song. But when I went to YouTube and looked at the lyrics, it said something about raising a glass to Jesus/God I’m not sure what they exactly meant by that, but I wasn’t comfortable with those lyrics, and I didn’t like the thought of it either. Thanks so much for this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

