the looks of the 1960’s.

Last Summer, my mother and I went yard-selling and came across a house that had stack after stack of old magazines from local salons – most of them were from the 1960’s-1990’s! Of course, I went to the oldest section and found the ones that were in the best condition. I ended up buying a folder full of them, all in wonderful shape and beautiful colors, for less than $5! I had planned on going back to get more from the 70’s, as I hadn’t brought much money (I normally don’t buy much from yardsales.) but by the time we could’ve gone back, most of it was completely gone. Not a huge shock, of course. (: Most of them had tutorials on how to do the styles at home, some of them have lovely illustrations and there were a few large posters as well. I hung one of the posters on my bedroom wall, as well as three of the nicest art pieces. I love looking at the old illustrations and art from the salons. (:

Of course, my first thought was to post them on the blog for all of my fellow vintage lovers to look at and discuss, but I kept putting it off and putting it off! I had more important posts planned, a switch to WordPress and a lot of redesigning to do (as most of you all will notice at first glance. I’ve changed the header and background, as well as updated a few pages.) and the poor magazines and art got pushed back until now! But I decided to go ahead and take photos this morning while babysitting my little brother and niece, and post them for y’all! I hope you enjoy seeing the first batch!

4 thoughts on “the looks of the 1960’s.

  1. Sadie Fisher March 21, 2015 / 11:34 pm

    Wow. I really loved this blog post. And I really love vintage! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Paige March 22, 2015 / 4:59 am

    How fun! Thanks for sharing. It’s amusing to read the way they described the hairdo in the last picture. 🙂

    Like

  3. Lauren Patrick March 26, 2015 / 3:03 pm

    That’s awesome. I have never been a huge fan of the hairdos of those times, but I do love the dresses! My body type just doesn’t look great in that style, though (see my comment on your previous post) I am working to lose weight and then hopefully I can wear more dresses and feel confident!

    Like

  4. Calico Sisters blog March 30, 2015 / 2:49 am

    Oh such fun Kalin! Thanks so much for sharing them! The pictures are such good quality too by the way! 🙂

    XO!
    Cassie
    The elder sister & writer

    Like

Leave a Reply

