Wonderfully Made

Recently, a new fad began. Everywhere you look, everything that you listen to, every movie, every show, every song, seems to have a new message to spread – curvy is the new beautiful. I’ve seen quotes like, “Real women have curves.” “Real men like meat, not bones.” and more downright hateful quotes that seem to go completely against what those people who write those quotes stand for, and that’s having a good body image and self confidence. Because while they’re singing songs like All About That Bass, and telling curvy girls that they’re beautiful…they don’t realize that they are making girls without them feel inadequate, ugly and out of place because they are more petite than some. A bit of a disclaimer before I publish this post for the world to see…I am not trying to say that skinny is prettier than curvy, or vice versa. I want to see girls feeling beautiful not because of their size, but because of who made them. Because every girl is built differently. Just because a girl is small, doesn’t mean she’s not as much of a woman as the other. And I am also completely against “fat-shaming” unless that person is so overweight that they are unhealthy, then I will want to help them..same with a person who is too skinny. This isn’t about personal preferences. It isn’t about health. This isn’t even about my own body and self-confidence. This is about women, and to say that we deserve love and respect, no matter what our body is shaped like, because we all have one thing in common – we are all fearfully and wonderfully made.


This is a topic that I’ve wanted to write about for awhile, but never got to it. I was somewhat inspired after I saw a girl, who will remain unnamed, on Instagram being bullied because of her weight. She’s a naturally small girl – maybe 100 pounds. She’s petite, and little. She’s in her older teen years. She may be small, but she is healthy, she’s not overly skinny, she doesn’t look like she was stunted in growth, but she’s simply not a curvy girl. I saw a person comment and leave a hashtag on her photo, labeling her as anorexic and pitiful because she is so “focused on her weight that she won’t eat and gain weight like she should.” The person commenting was a larger sized girl. Both girls, in my opinion, are beautiful. They couldn’t be any more different body-wise, but they are both healthy and happy. That’s what should count, right? But no. Society has pushed this new thing into people’s minds that if you aren’t curvy, you must be terrified of gaining weight, refuse to eat real food, live on diets and feel uncomfortable in your own skin. Popular songs like All About That Bass (if you look up the lyrics, beware, I’m 90% sure that the lyrics have a cuss word in them.) and more, call petite girls terrible names, fake and photoshopped just because they are smaller.

I’m going to be real with y’all.

I am 5’1 on a good day. I wear a size 1 jeans, and a size 4 dress. A small sized shirt. I am petite. I’ve always been small, and considering my age and my family….I’m not going to randomly shoot up and get bigger. I am on a diet because my health requires it, not to lose weight. I am proud of my body, because it is my natural body that God gave me. It has no man-made markings, it has no piercings. It is exactly how God created me, and I love it. Do I have flaws that I would give anything to change? Don’t we all. But even before I started taking care of my body and eating healthy, I have always been petite and on the skinny side. I have never, and will most likely never be considered curvy.

I have a friend who is nearly the complete opposite. She is larger than me, she’s healthy, she’s happy. She is naturally bigger than me. Do I look at her, wishing I could have her body? No. Does she wish she had mine? No. We are all individuals, and we shouldn’t be judged and categorized for something as stupid and fleeting as body shape. Especially when we are all made by the same God, the same King of Kings, who made us precisely how He wanted us.

Psalm 139:13-18

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

4 thoughts on “Wonderfully Made

  1. BES March 17, 2015 / 1:11 am

    Good post Kalin! … I have to admit (well, I don’t HAVE to, but I’m gonna!😜) that I have friends I have been jealous of their weight/size before. I have always been tall and big. I am pretty well preportioned so I don’t think I look tooo overweight, but I am. I don’t care about what the world thinks is perfect, that would be useless! “You must have a thigh gap!” “No! You must look like Marylin Monroe!” Back and forth, blah blah blah! But, I do want to be a healthy size so I can feel better about myself. 🙂 Thankfully, I’m pretty thick-skinned and the only people who have ever called me fat/ugly (via Instagram of course, and in a debate they were losing) pretty nearly didn’t have a brain to stand on so it didn’t phase me. I am my biggest bully, sadly. ;-/ Anyway, just know I think you’re super cute, keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Paige March 17, 2015 / 1:22 am

    Thank you so much for this post Kalin! As a fellow slender gal, I too get frustrated with all the claims that real women are curvy…which makes me what…? In reality though, I know that as long as I’m healthy, it’s okay to be non-curvy. Thanks for the reminder that each person is fearfully and wonderfully made. 🙂

    Like

  3. achieve1dream March 21, 2015 / 1:48 am

    I actually don’t think that fad is recent at all, but I could be wrong. It seems like I’ve been hearing that saying “real women have curves” for a long time, but that stupid “All About That Bass” song (ignoring lyrics completely that song is incredibly annoying and I’m so sick of songs that sound auto-tuned even though hers wasn’t) really brought it to the forefront I think.

    I couldn’t agree with you more on this post. It’s absolutely horrible that people have been bullied for being overweight for so many years, but seriously doing the same thing to skinny people is not the right answer. Everyone needs to stop worrying about everyone else, mind their own business and learn to be happy with who they are. Great post!!

    Like

  4. Lauren Patrick March 26, 2015 / 3:00 pm

    As someone who has struggled with being overweight her whole life, it is nice to occasionally see larger people in the media and them not be the funny idiot. In the past any time there was a fat person they were the butt of the jokes and were “comically” larger. I do not see that as much with smaller women, though I never thought of it from their perspective. Thank you for this post which has opened my eyes to the other side of the spectrum. I have been heavy dieting and loosing weight, but it is for myself (health, confidence, happiness) and my husband and for God (to Glorify him through taking care of the vessel He gave me and to be able to bear healthy children to further His kingdom) but for no one else. The Lord made me who I am and my struggle with my weight has been a tribulation that has helped me to turn more to God for His glory rather than my own. Hmm…You have gotten me thinking of a new blog post of my own…

    Like

Leave a Reply

