Sacred Singleness.

A true man of God will love God more than he loves you. A true man of God will put God first, not you.


It seems to be becoming harder and harder to find true men of God in this day and time. And you know what? It’s probably just as hard for men to find true, Godly, Christian ladies. But considering this is a girl’s blog…let’s take a look into my mind during this phase in my life…

Sacred Singleness.

That’s right, I said it. Straight out of the mouths of Eric and Leslie Ludy. Call me old fashioned (or say I’m living in the 1990’s, a place that was taken over by purity rings and courting, when the Ludy’s and Kissing Dating Goodbye came on the scene.) that’s totally okay…because I am.

As a young teenaged girl, it can become quite frustrating knowing that eventually, I want to get married, but I want to wait for My Beloved. I want to wait for a man who can treasure me the way I deserve, and the only way I’ll get that pure love (other than Christ, but we’re talking about romantic love here, not Christ’s love.) is by receiving it from a man who has experienced the greatest love in the world. (Now we’re talking about Christ.) The only way a man can truly love me, protect me, and cherish me, is when he knows my worth in God’s eyes, and when he has experienced God’s love in his own life. A true Christian man will be set-apart, and he will strive to treat his princess here on earth (girls, you’re princesses. Don’t let any of those 1990’s purity ring haters tell you otherwise.) just like Christ wants to treat us. He will strive to be Christ-like in everything that he does, and that includes how he loves his future wife.

But yes, it gets discouraging sometimes, knowing what I need, knowing I shouldn’t (and will not) settle for some fake prince charming in tin foil armor.

This world is full of boys, but we are severely lacking men. We’re full of boys who paint the same picture as TV does on trashy shows. We are full of boys who refuse to work because they’re busy playing video games. Who refuse to be romantic because they’re too busy guzzling beers or hanging with the guys. Worst of all, we’re full of boys who are too lazy to dig into the Word of God, begin a real relationship with Him, and get in their prayer closets. They are selfish, weak, lazy boys.

1 Corinthians 16:13

Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong.


Are we willing to wait for strong men, firm in their faith? Or better yet…are we willing to be a Proverbs 31/Titus 2 women so that we are worthy of a Godly man?

Titus 2 

But speak thou the things which become sound doctrine:

That the aged men be sober, grave, temperate, sound in faith, in charity, in patience.

The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;

That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

Young men likewise exhort to be sober minded.

In all things shewing thyself a pattern of good works: in doctrine shewing uncorruptness, gravity, sincerity,

Sound speech, that cannot be condemned; that he that is of the contrary part may be ashamed, having no evil thing to say of you.


9 thoughts on “Sacred Singleness.

  1. BekahShag March 4, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    Great post! Everything was right on! 🙂 I am old-fashioned too.

    Like

  2. Lauren Patrick March 4, 2015 / 10:37 pm

    This is a great post! My husband and I have really talked about how we wish that we had met as believers not before. I had a rough childhood and college life in relation to guys. Put down the naysayers and live your life for God and the right man will appear for you!

    Like

    • kalinann March 5, 2015 / 8:24 pm

      Thank you! A few friends of mine gotten married young and have said the same thing. It’s so important to give God the pen. 🙂

      Like

  3. graceharrub March 5, 2015 / 1:01 am

    never settle for less, My motto. I know if marriage is God’s plan for my life he will faithfully construct a beautiful love story for me. Loved this post Kalin, nice job 🙂

    Like

      • Tashia March 6, 2015 / 8:05 pm

        Yes, what Grace said!!
        You did a beautiful job at writing this post! Everything is so true! I can’t wait to see the love story God is writing for me!! ♡ ~Tashia

        Like

  4. Sadie Fisher March 6, 2015 / 1:12 am

    I appreciate your writing, you are so right about all these things, and these topics need to be discussed. To tell people to wait for who they deserve, and not just some boy that you caught just walking down the sidewalk. That has a girlfriend, just to have a girlfriend. Or to have a boyfriend, just to have a boyfriend. And I see that a lot these days. I appreciate it a lot!❤️

    Like

    • kalinann March 17, 2015 / 12:29 am

      Thank you for the sweet comment, Sadie! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

