Judge Not?

*this is an older post I wrote for my old blog, but I feel that it is important to be revisited at this moment in time for me. You may remember it from months and months ago, but please do read and comment. (: God Bless.

One of the most popular Bible verses is probably Matthew 7:1, “Judge not, or you will be judged.” I’ve heard it quoted the most by people who either fit into two categories – the unsaved, or the Christian who is living in sin and defensive about it. Christian’s who stand their ground and believe in the Bible, and aren’t afraid to talk about things even their opinion isn’t like the worlds, will probably be very familiar with this verse. Very recently, someone quoted it to me. Let me be clear before I get into this post – I am not a judging person. God’s job is to judge, and I will happily leave that to Him, but it is my job to be honest, to share the gospel, and to be loud. I hate to break it to y’all, but Hell is a part of the Bible, sin is part of the Bible, and so is consequence. Just because I talk about God being the judge, and because I am honest about Hell and sin, does not mean I am hateful, holier than thou, or that I’m not a sinner. I sin daily and I fail God daily, that’s why I’m so thankful for grace, and that’s why I’m so passionate about sharing these consequences of sin, because I’ve lived through it and I’ve seen it firsthand. It is a Christian’s job to make these things known and share – we can not lead others to Christ without leading them to repentance, and they can not repent without knowing that their sins are wrong in the eyes of the Lord, even though it’s okay in the eyes of the world. But I will not push my beliefs on anyone, I simply am here to plant the seed, if I’m able.

 

Matthew 7 King James Version (KJV)

Judge not, that ye be not judged.
For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

There’s a difference between judging someone and being honest about sin, and living differently than them. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been “judged” for the clothes I wear, the way I speak (or choose not to speak, I should say) and so on. Am I perfect? I am so far from being perfect. I have so many issues, trust me. I don’t trust God enough in areas that I should, I’ve doubted Him and I’ve even doubted my salvation, I’m depressed a lot, I’m anxious, I’ve lied, I’m too quick to anger…but God convicts me, because that’s His job, and with the help of Godly people around me, I come back around to Him again like the prodigal son, and He welcomes me back with opened arms and kisses, just like the father, no matter if I’ve been gone for an hour, or a week, or a month. God is there to judge me, and I know He will continue convicting me and punishing me when I do wrong, because that’s what I deserve. Honestly, I deserve far more than that, I deserve Hell, but Jesus Christ is my intercessor.

So, why am I rambling? I guess my point is this – Christian’s have no right to judge…to a point. When the world thinks of judging, they most likely think of someone disagreeing with their views, or someone standing up for something that they believe in. But you see, Christian’s are actually called to rebuke! Isn’t that in the Bible?

Matthew 18:15-17
“If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother. But if he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, that every charge may be established by the evidence of two or three witnesses. If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church. And if he refuses to listen even to the church, let him be to you as a Gentile and a tax collector.

And, my personal favorite for this topic….

 
Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.

See there? We are told to preach, reprove, rebuke and exhort! But I love that last part – we should have patience. In other words, we shouldn’t damn the person or judge them, but we should be able to see their sin, tell them what is wrong and why, and do so with love, patience, and Bible. We should plant the seed, and stay firm. Let us not waver and be a bad example, living in the exact sin that the Bible preaches against.

Living a different life does not mean you are holier than thou, it should mean that you live for Christ, not the world or acceptance from the world.

Preaching the Bible does not mean you are perfect and sinless, it should mean that you know precisely how sin destroys, and that you hate it and want no part of it in your life.

I’ll leave y’all with this – if someone quotes that Bible verse at you, I dare you to show them the context. I dare you to stay firm for Christ, plant the seed, be patient and loving, but be honest. Don’t be afraid of persecution. Just like that Bible says, only God can judge us in that way. Stand for Him, and the opinions of the world shouldn’t matter, because you know that God has you in His hand, and He’s given you salvation. Whom shall we fear?

Keep on keeping on.

I know of nothing which I would choose to have as the subject of my ambition for life than to be kept faithful to my God till death, still to be a soul winner, still to be a true herald of the cross, and testify the name of Jesus to the last hour. It is only such who in the ministry shall be saved. – Charles Spurgeon.
4 thoughts on “Judge Not?

  1. Torian Burnett March 1, 2015 / 5:56 pm

    That was very VERY well written! Spot on.

    Like

  2. Lauren Patrick March 2, 2015 / 4:52 pm

    Kalin, You know that I have been following both your blogs for a long time. As a very new believer myself I want to say Thank You. I have said that exact phrase many time and I think even to you, but now that my light has been turned on and fire has been sparked I see the difference from a believer and a non-believer view. It is amazing seeing something from this different perspective and I thank God every day for opening my eyes and not hardening my heart even though it took me 27 years to see the light that he was offering. Thank you for posting your blog. You have an amazing heart for a girl your age, I would never guess your age just reading your posts. Lastly, I want to let you know that I have started a blog project as a new believer journeying through the Bible in this new light that I have been given. I would love for you to give it a look, maybe a follow, or a mention? Thank you again! God Bless!

    Like

    • kalinann March 2, 2015 / 4:59 pm

      Thank you so much, Lauren!! It’s so good to read this comment! I’m so happy that you’ve truly found Christ, nothing compares to what He offers us! I can’t wait to read your new blog and follow along on this new journey of yours!

      Like

Leave a Reply

