why I don’t like CCM.

*before I begin, allow me to say that I am not in any way posting this to be rude about certain groups, their talent and etc, nor am I saying that everyone who listens to CCM (which means Contemporary Christian Music) is sinning because of this and I am better than them all. This is simply a post about my own beliefs and convictions about this style of music, and if we can truly worship God with it.

This is a post that’s been laid on my heart for awhile now,  but I haven’t really had the courage to post it, honestly. I’m one of those Christian’s who love turning up the radio and hearing happy, fun songs that people say are about God. Mandisa, TobyMac, Newsboys, Third Day, Casting Crowns, you name it, I’ve probably either bought their CD, or been happy when they came on the radio and sang along to their songs. (rather badly, I admit.) For a year or so, I’ve been wondering what the difference is between mainstream Christian music and normal, secular music. And how many of these songs that we call Christian, are actually Christian? The very word Christian means to be Christlike, to be centered around God and to follow Him. But are these bands really following Christ? Even the ones that sing more conservative music, are they true Christ-Followers, or would they rather be singing at a pub? And if they are really not very Christ-like or Christ-Centered, should we be singing along to the songs, attending their concerts, buying their merchandise..? After all, one of the things we’re warned the most against in the Bible are the false prophets, vanity and Pharisee’s. How many people are out there singing songs that we claim as “ours” that really have no business being under the genre “Christian Music”

Now, I’m not saying any of these things to be hypocritical, or to be a Pharisee myself. I’m not saying that people shouldn’t be singing Christian music as a career just because they sin – everyone sins, therefor if that was true, no one should be singing, and we know that’s not Biblical. Yes, we are called to worship. Yes, singing and worshiping the Lord is very Biblical! I’m happy that Christian music is getting it’s place and more people are hearing about the Lord, but I must wonder…is the kind of Christian music that we know so well really Biblical? Is it taking us down a bad route? I know so many people that started out listening to modern Christian music bands just like I listed above, and then slowly, they started switching over to secular music. And you know what? It was so easy for them to stray from Christian music to secular music because..well, let’s face it, what’s the difference?

Colossians 3:16

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.

Awhile back, I had the opportunity to attend Winter Jam, a very popular Christian music concert full of speakers and popular bands. I can’t remember the exact bands, but I do know that TobyMac was going to be there. Out of curiosity, before I signed up to go, I went onto YouTube and searched “Winter Jam Concerts” and “TobyMac Concerts” just to get a taste of what I was going to see. At first, I thought that it would be a nice place to worship the Lord and lift up our voices…but honestly? I couldn’t even hear the singers because the girls were screaming so loud I couldn’t even hear, people were yelling, dancing and jumping around. Now, I’m not going to say that worship is bad and I’m not going to say that we aren’t supposed to get excited about God. King David danced for the Lord, just like many others. I love seeing people moved by Christ and lift up their arms, say Amen and be moved to tears by Him. But this…this didn’t seem like that. I’m not judging the people who went, or judging Winter Jam as a whole. But I’m curious – could you see Jesus Christ Himself coming down and dancing to TobyMac with us? It seems sinful to even downgrade Him to that. I’m not putting these people down or saying that they don’t love Christ, but I ask them – what’s the difference between you and other bands? Are you taking the narrow path, or are you squeezing in with the world with a toe in the Christian side just so you can label yourself as a Christian band? I challenge you all to go look up your favorite Christian bands and search the lyrics and scroll through all that you can. Are they strongly Christian, or are they just mentioning God at random, or do they talk about Him at all?

If I’m going to listen to Rock Music, I’ll listen to Rock. If I want to listen to Rap (which will never happen, just a by the way.) I’ll listen to Rap. And ditto for every other genre. These worldly genre’s have no place in my church, in my heart, or on my radio.

A few years back, my mother, brother and I went to a Jeremy Camp concert at the church that we had been attending. As the music started, we began realizing something  – we weren’t in the middle of a God-fearing crowd worshiping God. They were worshiping Jeremy Camp. They weren’t having what a lot of people call a “glory spell” they were so consumed by emotions based on the secular music that they probably wouldn’t even notice if Jesus walked up on the stage. We shouldn’t base our faith and worship on emotions – emotions are important, yes, but we should be reverent while worshiping our Lord and Savior. We got up and left the concert before it was even close to being over, knowing that the Lord was not present. There is no reverence in Contemporary Christian Music. Would you say that TobyMac is worshiping God reverently whilst he stands on a stage dancing and rapping? I wouldn’t. When I think about true worship, I think about the people who have stood for Christ, fought the good find, and fallen on their knees full of humble admiration. I think about King David, praising with his Psalms.

For an experiment, let’s compare secular Christian music to two things – Psalms, which are the songs of Biblical times, and hymns.

First things first…TobyMac’s song, Eye on It. I highly recommend going onto youtube and listening to this song whilst reading the lyrics I post, because it’s not just the lyrics that are  very secular, but the tune and the way he sings and dances. Christlike, or it is focused on emotions, rock, and fitting into the worldly form?

“I set my eyes to the west, walkin’ away from it all
Reachin’ for what lies ahead, I got my eye on it
I see my sweat hit the ground
I put my foot in the block
This is the race of my life
And I can’t wait for this shot

‘Cause I can feel the wind at my back
Chest is pumpin’ like a heart attack
Feet are moving and my mind is locked
Pressin’ on with everything I got”

This is labeled as one of his newest Christian songs, but I have to ask…where is Christ? If we heard that song, we could fit it into anything. We could make it secular. If I may be bold – this is not Christ-Centered.

Next up…a Psalm written by David. (This is Psalms 13, for anyone who wants to read more.)

How long wilt thou forget me, O Lord? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?

How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and hear me, O Lord my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death;

 Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved.”

 But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation.

I will sing unto the Lord, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.

Is it just me, or is this extremely different than TobyMac’s song and pretty much every other CCM song? This is completely based on the Lord and it is full of reverence and true praise.

Next, the hymn Come Thou Fount, written by Robert Robinson. Robert wrote this song at 22 years of age. This is proof to me that the secular movement should not be based completely on age. I do realize that this song was written in the 1700’s, yes, times have changed, but the Bible never does. This is proof that young people do not need secular music. What they need is true worship and to learn how to reverently love the Lord, not themselves. Worship is not meant for us or our enjoyment, it is meant for God.

“Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it;
Seal it for Thy courts above.”

Now, let’s compare. I’m not comparing these based on my own feelings, but by the facts of the matter. Which is more like Biblical worship? The hymn. The hymn has the most in common with the Psalm written by the man after God’s own heart, Kind David. TobyMac has absolutely nothing in common. CCM is based on us,for us, and our emotions. True Biblical songs are based on God, reverence, worship and HIM and His power. It is not to be danced provocatively to, it is to be sang with admiration for our King.

I end with this…if you were to go meet King Jesus today and He asked you to sing for Him, would you want to sing the secular music we know? And in Heaven, where it says we will worship and sing…do you think we’ll be rapping to TobyMac, Newsboys and Mandisa?

11 thoughts on “why I don’t like CCM.

  1. Shania January 22, 2015 / 6:00 pm

    Kalin I now this is a very big thing for you and I totally respect you on that. You did a really good job writing this. I myself am goin to start limiting myself on what I listen too. But many songs are still centered on Christ, I have listened to many songs through out my life on the Christian radio stations. Many of them are based on Christ. Even though it may not mention Lord or God every other word they may sing about him as a whole. I feel like some more of the females sing about God, I especially like Hillsong. Saying that none of Toby Macs songs talk about God is a little extreme. But I respect your decision and will go no further. You even changed my mind a bit 😉

    Like

    • kalinann January 22, 2015 / 7:02 pm

      I never said that all CCM songs are bad or that TobyMac is bad, either. As I said in the post, I’m not judging these people either. It’s not just about the lyrics, like i said. It’s about the people and what the music is like. if it just stirs up emotions and etc, they could be bad. I made those points in the post as well. 🙂

      Like

  2. victoria January 23, 2015 / 3:02 pm

    Excellent post. Years ago, in its infancy, my husband had some dealings with the CCM movement through his company. What bothered us was the fact that the musicians said they were doing this kind of music to attract and win the lost. However, we noticed that they went directly to the churches and wanted to sell concert tickets to all their youth groups. Why invite them if they are already saved? It really seemed it was more about entertainment and making money that it ever was about reaching out to the lost. I also am concerned about all the young ladies that idolize these Christian rock bands and even lust after some of them. I have come across blogs where the girls are talking about this singer being ‘so cute’ or ‘so hot.’ Not good.

    Like

    • kalinann February 13, 2015 / 3:10 am

      Thank you for the comment! 🙂 You made wonderful points, especially about them desiring to attract the lost. It brings to mind what I’ve heard my preacher say before – church is for born-again Christian’s, and I believe that Christian music should be for those already saved. I feel like we try so hard to be similar to the world and appear eye-catching to the world and exciting, that we forget it’s NOT the world we should live to please – it’s Christ!

      Like

  3. Jazzmin January 24, 2015 / 2:55 am

    Great post. I love the approach you wrote this with and the views you shared and really loved the way you compared the Psalm with the hymn and CCM example of a song. I started listening a little more to the Christian music station a few months ago on the way to school and I enjoyed some of the songs, but some were so obviously not focused on God at all or could be taken as meaning anything. Reading this reminded me of that and the fact that some songs are just so far away from actually being genuinely purposed for worship and for God.

    Have a blessed day!
    ~Jazzmin

    Like

    • kalinann February 13, 2015 / 3:12 am

      Thank you for commenting! 🙂 I still enjoy a few CCM songs, but it’s amazing how many of them are so worldly! The other day I was in a store (I want to say Burkes Outlet…) that’s for clothing, not Christian or anything at all, and they were playing a CCM song. And it made me realize that the song (which I had liked before) can stray so far from it’s christian genre. Are the songs really Christian, or are they just christian because they are on a CCM radio station?

      Like

  4. seannaacey February 4, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    I have to say I wholeheartedly agree with you, girl! I still listen from time to time and yes, there are a few songs and singers I still like, but I also love secular music too.
    I grew up with the Beatles and Bob Dylan, it’s what my dad listened to. And there are quite a few secular songs that to me are inspirational and make me think of my walk with God. Just because secular singers/songwriters aren’t writing for God doesn’t mean He can’t use them to further His plan. He always equips the called and not calls the equipped. 🙂

    Hope you’re enjoying WordPress, my dear! I really love how your blog is laid out. Cute as can be.

    Like

    • kalinann February 13, 2015 / 3:13 am

      Thanks for the comment, Sean! 🙂 I still like a few CCM songs, but I’m actually to the point of where I would rather listen to “secular” songs as opposed to ones that are labeled as CCM. I almost feel…guilty, by bringing God into something and saying it’s Godly when it’s just NOT!

      I really am loving WordPress!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tori Moretz February 13, 2015 / 2:19 am

    Wow! This post was has sone really important points and even though I may not agree with everything you said, you have changed my mind somewhat on Christian singers. I feel like I’m always seeing young girls saying how hot some Christian singer is, and that really bothers me, especially when some of the guys are married! Thanks again for what you wrote!

    Like

    • kalinann February 13, 2015 / 3:13 am

      Thank you, Tori! 🙂 I’m happy you enjoyed reading the post!

      Like

  6. Tori Moretz March 13, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    Reblogged this on A Million Things To TAlk ABout and commented:
    This is a really awesome post and comes from one of my favorite blogs! Although my opinion does differ on a couple things regarding this topic, I do agree with most of what she has to say. After you’ve read this article let me know what you thought of it by leaving me a comment below!
    Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

